Frugal February Recap

This is it! The conclusion of my Frugal February challenge. Well, technically it ended on Saturday, but I didn’t get around to it till now. The original concept of this month was to just save as much money as I could. However, this really turned into more of a “Healthy February” month not only in terms of my wallet but also for my mind and body. Wanting to save money and get the most of my cash made me want to use my gym membership more (already pay bi-weekly). Wanting to go to the gym more made me want to eat healthier and going to the gym forced me into a healthier sleeping pattern.

Results of this month

  • Budgeted my money closely and cut expenses wherever I could. This included:
    • Stopped eating out at lunch
    • Stopped eating out for dinner by myself
    • Stopped purchasing small impulse buys (successfully did not use cash for Tim Horton’s this month!)
  • Wrote down any impulse buys that I did want in a list. I’m going to pick something tomorrow from it and purchase it. I’m thinking it’ll be the $50 for $50 Beaver Silver Coin for my coin collection that the Canadian Mint is currently selling.
  • Woke up every morning during the week at 6am.
  • Hit the gym almost every morning during the week at 7am (18 out of 20 days!).
  • Brought homemade healthy lunches every day to work.
  • Really cut back on the amount of sugar I ate.
  • Made healthier choices when I went out for dinners (vegetables instead of fries).
  • Got 8 hours of sleep every night thanks to my body forcing me to sleep by 10pm.
  • Have stopped biting my nails since Feb 1st (an unexpected result that I’m quite happy about!).

I’m pretty proud that I did all of this in a month! Moving forward I’m going to see how long I can implement all of these lifestyle changes to keep them permanent. I actually like waking up early and hitting the gym. It puts me in an overall better mood at work. It also gets me to work earlier, which simply makes me look better and gives me some me time before diving into the day. I also hope that if I keep my workouts going for another few months I’ll see some changes in my physical appearance. It never hurts to lose a little body fat and to turn it into muscle.

Plus not having to rely on your next payday to pay off your credit card bill is such a nice feeling. I actually have spending money left over that besides the coin I’m going to buy, I will be saving. I consider this challenge a huge success!

Anyways my final update:

Mandatory Expenses

  • Paid Jan 24 – Feb 15 Utility Bill
  • Goodlife Membership
  • Automatic Savings to RSP
  • Automatic Savings to TFSA
  • Monthly Bank Fee

Other Expenses

  • Sunday – Brunch with friends $13.50
  • Thursday – Groceries – $22.97
    •   Bought Milk, Eggs, Celery, 2x Sweet Potato, 1x Green Pepper, Raspberries, Blackberries, Oranges, Lettuce, Whipped Cream (for roommates birthday cake I made)
  • Friday – Cover for club for roommate’s Birthday – $20.00

Meals

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it before but for breakfasts I always have a piece of fruit and oatmeal at work with some tea. For lunches every day this week I had my turkey & rice soup that I had made on Sunday. I also brought a 100g yogurt cup and a handful of mixed nuts. For dinners I had:

  • Monday just made a vegetable stir-fry with some pasta.
  • Tuesday was tuna with rice and asparagus.
  • Wednesday pork, sautéed red peppers and rice
  • Thursday chicken and avocado
  • Friday – I had cake. Unhealthy I know.

Activities 

11005073_605782979566150_1546615026_nLast Sunday I went to Toronto’s IceFest which was a lot of fun to see all the ice sculptures. Played a little floor hockey on Wednesday night with my intramural team and Thursday night was cake baking night for the big birthday party on Friday.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

