Frugal February Friday – Update 3/4

Week 3 Update

Thanks solely to my family this challenge has been going pretty easy for me so far. There’s been a number of temptations to purchase items, the biggest culprit being coins for my coin collection, but for the most part it’s been smooth sailing. I now actually prefer to make my own meals instead of going out to eat. When I do go out to eat my brain has started to estimate how much money I could be saving by just making my meal at home. Go figure.

Last weekend was Family Day in Canada so I had Monday off, and I actually took the time to spend the long weekend with my parents. This meant not having to pay for anything for another weekend. It also meant that I once again got take back to my condo some homemade meals that I used for lunches this week. Even got spoiled to some new clothing for Valentine’s Day from the family!

Mandatory Expenses

  • Automatic Savings to RSP
  • Automatic Savings into TFSA
  • GoodLife Gym Membership

Other Expenses

  • Sunday – Groceries
    • Picked up asparagus, red peppers, avocado, carrots, zucchini, tomatoes, yogurt, eggs, oatmeal, mixed nuts for about $30
  • Sunday – American Money
    • With the CDN dollar falling against the US and me wanting to travel a lot to the US this year, I’ve decided with every paycheck I’m going to convert some of my money into $100 American. Just in case the CDN dollar really

Meals

I received a big container of meatballs from home that I used for my four lunches this week. With the red peppers, tomatoes and the onion I got last week I made some homemade salsa for a  taco salad on Tuesday. Wednesday I unthawed a stirfry I made last week that I had put in the freezer, Thursday I didn’t eat anything because I wasn’t feeling well (slept the moment I got home, woke up at 11:30 for 20 minutes and fell back asleep until my alarm) and tonight I’m going out for dinner with my dad!

IMG_1551Activities

As I mentioned the weekend was spent with my parents so I hung around the house with them, watching Saving Mr. Banks and we went shopping downtown Toronto (thus the Valentine’s Day clothing). Tuesday was opening night of Cannibal! The Musical so I went to that since I do the media for the show, Wednesday played some indoor soccer and tonight I’m going to the Motorcycle show with my dad. Plus went to the gym four times this week.

Keeping busy, and spending as little money as I can!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

