Frugal February Friday – Update 2 / 4

This week I feel I cheated (though my friend Kirin calls it “using my resources”) in terms of my food situation. I had to drop my Jeep off at my parent’s house after the wedding I attended so instead of grocery shopping this week at a store, I shopped at the fridge of my parents. My mom was even kind enough and had already made me one of my favourite stir-fry (pork & green pepper) dishes to take back! That lasted me for every lunch this week. So thanks mom! I also grabbed some cheese, ham, green peppers, onions, celery, broccoli, carrots, oranges, apples & cauliflower. So I was set for this week in terms of food! Mandatory Expenses:

  • None!

Other Expenses:

  • Friday (night) – I ran out of money on my PRESTO card for the Go Train, so had to purchase a ticket for $7.85.
  • Sunday – Went out for Lunch at one of my favourite restaurants in Guelph Symposium! Split appetizers with friends. $16.20
  • Tuesday – Had hot chocolate with co-workers at Tim Horton’s. Used my gift card from Christmas though. $0.00. I also won another free drink from this! Thanks Roll Up The Rim.
  • Wednesday – Coffee at Tim Horton’s. Used my free drink. $0.00.
  • Wednesday – Went out for dinner and drinks with my sports team  after Volleyball on Wednesday night. $23.60
  • Thursday – Went out for dinner with friends $14.59

Savings 

budgeting

Example of my spreadsheet

To help keep track of my finances I have a big Excel spreadsheet and that I record all my purchases. I break purchases down into categories like Groceries, Entertainment, Gifts, etc. This is what has really helped me to stay on budget and also to notice areas where I could save some money (cough the Dining category cough). Anyways, today was payday and after taking into account half of rent that will be due in March, paying off the credit card, savings going into my RRSP & TFSA, etc… I’ve actually already saved roughly $300 bucks doing this Frugal February. That’s actually ridiculous (also goes to show you how much I ate out before this…).

Meals This Week 

For home-made meals this week I had the above stir-fry from my mom for lunch, soup, roast beef & potatoes and another chicken salad. I used the celery, broccoli, cauliflower and carrots I took from my parents for snacks during the afternoon and had the apples / oranges for breakfast after hitting the gym, which I went four out of five times this week.

Activities This Week  10952546_407264949451710_1560012191_nActivities included my old room-mates wedding on Saturday, which was amazing! So much fun as I hadn’t seen a lot of my fellow Guelph Alumni in a while. It was good to catch up, and see one of them get married to such a great girl. Really happy for both of them! Sunday I went back to the University of Guelph with my friend Amanda (check out her blog Nature is Love!) and Kevin and walked around our old University campus. Since graduating they built a new statue of a Gryphon, which I obviously needed a photo with. Was looking forward to being able to see it in person for a long time now! Played some volleyball on Wednesday and as mentioned went out afterwords for drinks and dinner. Saw Cannibal! The Musical on Thursday night (I work on the media for the show, so got free tickets). This Monday is Family Day in Ontario, so it’s a long weekend. I’m using it to spend the weekend with my parents and hang out with them back at home (again!). I hope they didn’t have Valentine’s Day plans as there will be one more that night!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frugal February Friday – Update 2 / 4

  1. Kirin Pandit says:

    Thank you for the shout out!! I am so jealous you have a holiday on Monday, that will be so nice! So great that you found so many fun things to do for free! Frugal February is already halfway over and you’ve done so well!!

Get In On The Discussion!

