Frugal February Friday – Update 1 / 4

Every Friday I plan on updating the results of my Frugal February challenge! So, far so good on my end as I did not make any unnecessary purchases this week. Luckily for me I’ve been so busy I haven’t really faced any obstacles in wanting to purchase anything outside of my set limits.

Money spent from February 1st to February 6th  

Mandatory Expenses

  • Portion of rent for February 15th – March 15th
  • Portion of January cable / internet bill
  • Portion of December 23 – January 23 utility bill
  • Monthly Metro Pass

Budgeted Expenses

  • Groceries equalled up to $14 (Next time I’ll remember to save my receipts to post)
    • 1 green pepper
    • 1 package of snap peas
    • 1 head of lettuce
    • 4 yogurts
    • 1 jar of marmalade
    • 1 package of Red Pepper Flakes
    • 1 package of Corn Starch
  • Haircut $16

It’s important to note that I still had a lot of groceries left over from the week before (where I spent $60 shopping, thought admittedly most of that was meat that I’ve put in the freezer to use this month), which explains the low grocery bill. I made my version of a mango chutney pork, which was my lunch for four days and dinner for one day. It would have been lunch for every day of the week, but one of my sales reps took me and my co-worker out for lunch (job perks!). My remaining dinners included a pork chop with sautéed vegetables and rice, homemade burgers and a chicken salad that I loaded with vegetables.

Activities th10914468_373754866082436_1562877134_nese first few days to prove I’m not going to be a hermit this month included a Super Bowl potluck on Sunday (made cookies, that I already had all ingredients for), hanging out with a friend on Tuesday, my weekly intramural game on Wednesday (Handball!) and hit the gym every morning this week before work.

I came home to visit my parents tonight as I mentioned previously that tomorrow I’m going to my old roommates wedding so I will be making my way to Kitchener for the weekend. I’ve already budgeted for the wedding gift / hotel cost / gas. This weekend will also be the perfect reminder for myself on why I’m doing this challenge. I want to always be able to afford these events to experience them with the people I care about!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Frugal February Friday – Update 1 / 4

  1. Kirin Pandit says:

    Yay!! I love that you are off to a good start and I know you’ll be able to continue for the rest of the month. I love hearing what you have to eat every day 🙂 Have a great time at the wedding!!

Get In On The Discussion!

