Mango Chutney Pork

IMG_0048Week number two for my slow cooking recipe is a Mango Chutney Pork… with a bit of a twist. Why? Simply because I didn’t have / couldn’t find a couple of ingredients, so I had to substitute. That’s the fun of cooking though right? Being able to mix and match recipes to make them work for you.

This recipe comes from Canadian Living’s cookbook: New Slow Cooker Favourties. 

Ingredients

  • 1 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 jar (250 mL) mango chutney
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp each hot pepper flakes and pepper
  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1.35 kg boneless pork shoulder blade roast
  • 3 tbsp cornstarch

Substitues

IMG_0050I already had yellow onions at home, so I substituted the red onion for a yellow one. I searched forever at my grocery store to find a jar of mango chutney, but I couldn’t find one. So I went to Google and found that a substitute (but a sweeter one) would be to use
marmalade. I also didn’t have boneless pork, my pork still had the bone. With all these changes I was crossing my fingers that it would still taste good!

Directions

IMG_0052In slow cooker combine onion, chutney, salt, hot pepper flakes and pepper. Whisk in warm water and add pork.

Cover and cook on low until pork is tender. 6 to 8 hours. (I went the middle of the road route… and went for 7 hours).

IMG_0053Transfer pork to cutting board, cover and keep warm for 15 minutes before slicing.

Meanwhile, skim fat from liquid in slow cooker. Whisk cornstarch with 1/3 cup water until smooth, stir into slow cooker. Cover and cook on high until thickened, about 15 minutes. Pour over pork.

Results

IMG_0065

This was absolutely delicious! I really could taste the sweetness of the marmalade and the pork literally just fell off the bone. I ate my first serving with some brown rice and a salad, and I’ve got enough for lunch for the rest of the week!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mango Chutney Pork

  1. Pingback: Frugal February Friday – Update 1 / 4 | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

