Frugal February

Spring soon please?

Spring soon please?

Sorry February, but to me you’re the worst month of the year. Yes, you have Valentine’s Day and Family Day to look forward to… but that’s about all you got going for yourself. It’s still winter, it’s still freezing cold, the nights are still long and I simply just don’t want to do anything but hibernate in my bed with loads of blankets waiting for spring. So, I wanted to do something this February to make it more exciting for me, I wanted to give myself a challenge that also aligns with my goals from New Years. 

I have no significant plans for February except to go to my old roommate’s wedding next weekend, but I do have a lot of trips planned later this year that I need to save money for. Plus, I want to stop eating out so much and start learning to cook healthier. So, me being super creative I decided to challenge myself to what I thought was the oh so clever term: Frugal February! (A quick google search will show people have been doing this for years. Whoops. I’m seriously late to the party on this one).

The objective? Do not spend unnecessary money.

I’m not going to be as hardcore as some people I’ve been reading about are. I’ve read some people go on a huge shopping trip at the start of February and then only pay necessary bills. Nothing else.  That’s a bit extreme for me, but I’m still going to be stricter on myself.

No going out for lunches (though if my co-workers go out for sushi, I will allow myself this once), no fast-food dinners by myself, no Tim Horton’s coffee runs (already hating that one), no new clothing, games, other impulse buys.

IMG_0056

Time to use up what I already got!

I have some remaining gift cards for grocery stores from Christmas that I’m going to use up, I’m going to allow myself a case of beer, a haircut for the wedding I’m going to, and of course the wedding gift / expenses for that weekend (gas & hotel). I’m setting myself a $20 a week limit on groceries (which shouldn’t be a problem since I have a lot of meat currently in the freezer from January) and will focus on using all the food in my pantry.

Now I’m not going to deny going out for dinner or drinks with friends or to events and activities with them. This is to save me some money, not to become anti-social.

Also, whenever I have an urge to make an impulse purchase I’m going to write it down. At the end of the month I’m going to take a look at the list and pick something from it to reward myself… if I do a good job this month! Ideally, posting this online will encourage me (aka force me, to keep to this goal!).

I’m looking forward to this challenge and to see just how much money I’m able to save this February. Ideally, I’ll be able to build up my travel fund for the future and be able to visit all the friends I want to this year!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frugal February

  1. Pingback: Turkey & Rice Soup | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

