Slow Cooking – Classic Beef Stew

IMG_0039As per my resolutions for 2015 I wanted to learn to cook new healthy meals. Not only will it help me save money as I won’t be going out to eat for lunches and dinners, but it’ll help me maintain just an overall healthy lifestyle. Last week I went to Canadian Living’s 40th Anniversary party for work and they gave out cookbooks as a thank you for coming. I got the “New Slow Cooker Favourites” and low and behold I received my mother’s old slow cooker for Christmas.

Every week I plan on picking a new recipe from this book that’ll serve as the majority of my lunches / dinners for the week. I’m certainly not an expert cook by any means so for week #1 I wanted to pick something I felt I couldn’t mess up. So I went with a Classic Beef Stew!

Again all recipes and instructions are from Canadian Living!

Ingredients

  • IMG_00431.35 kg boneless beef pot roast (top or bottom blade, or cross rib)
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1.2 tsp pepper
  • 3 potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 pkg (each 14 g) mixed dried mushrooms
  • 3 sprigs fresh thyme
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 1/2 cups sodium-reduced beef broth
  • 1/2 dry cup wine
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

Directions

IMG_0042I was lazy and purchased pre-cubed meat, but if you just purchased a roast you’re supposed to cut your meat into 1 1/2 inch cubs. Then sprinkle with the salt and pepper. Please into the slow cooker and add the potatoes, carrots, onions, garlic, mushrooms, thyme and bay leaf.

IMG_0044In a bowl whisk together the beef broth, wine, tomato paste and Worcestershire sauce and then stir into the slow cooker.

Cover and cook on low until beef is tender, about 8 hours. Skim off fat.

Whisk flour with 1/4 cup water until smooth; stir into the slow cooker. Cover and cook on high until thickened for about 15 minutes. Discard bay leaf and thyme springs.

IMG_0045

The Result: 

IMG_0046

8 hours later and here is the end result and can I say… it’s delicious!! Best of all this makes 8 – 10 servings, though with my appetite it’ll probably last for 5-6. Definitely will make this again.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slow Cooking – Classic Beef Stew

  1. Kirin Pandit says:

    It looks amazing!! And you ARE an expert cooker, don’t sell yourself short! 😛

Get In On The Discussion!

