Three – Health

healthblogThe last few months of 2014 I’ve done my best to focus on healthy eating and working out more.

I’ve always been fairly active and this year was no different as I joined the Toronto Sports and Social Club in the spring and since then I’ve played in two multi-sport leagues and I played beach volleyball and learnt to row over the summer. Want to do more though! Before I even moved to Toronto I had a membership to GoodLife fitness and I used it occasionally and really didn’t know what I was doing. This past few months I’ve really made an effort to get a routine going. This routine involving waking up every morning before work and hitting the gym for 7am. Once at the gym I combine cardio with weightlifting and I target specific muscle groups each day.

I also started focusing on grocery shopping for healthy foods and cooking my own meals at home. This replaced my old ways of eating out all the time for both lunch and dinner. Not only has this made me focus on healthier habits, it’s also saved me a lot of money along the way. I like to keep track of my spending habits and it’s amusing to me to see that I can purchase a weeks worth of lunches and dinners at the grocery store… for about two relatively moderately priced lunches out. Crazy!

This also goes with yesterday’s post on Lifestyle but combining eating healthy and working out more I’ve certainly already seen an impact on my life. I have more energy, it helps keep me in a more positive mood and I’ve been feeling a lot better about myself!

The resolution for 2015?

  • Continue hitting the gym before work.
  • Track my gym routines to know when to increase weights. 
  • Learn new healthy recipes to cook at home.
  • Portion control meals.   
About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Three – Health

  1. Pingback: Slow Cooking – Classic Beef Stew | The Dave Cavern

  2. Pingback: Frugal February | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

