Pride

Pride.

I wish I could feel like this every single day. At the very least store a hint of this feeling to save for a rainy day when I’m feeling down. Regardless, the feeling I feel inside of true happiness is something I long to hold onto for as long as I’m able to.

Maybe writing it down will help.

The abundance of spectators at the parade.

The abundance of spectators at the parade.


This past long weekend for me was nothing short of an amazing weekend. I got to spend it with friends, family and to be surrounded by nothing but positivity and love. It was really moving for me. I spent the weekend hanging around WorldPride events in Toronto and then hit the streets again on Tuesday for Canada Day festivities. Two extremely important events to me that really broadcasted in all its colours how truly lucky and proud I am to be Canadian. It was a really emotional moment for me to watch the Pride parade with my mom and to see such a crazy turnout. I feel there are a number of messages one can take away from Pride parades. The message I took away from it though was that’s it’s ok to be who you are. Being different and unique is what makes you… you, and that you’re loved regardless. For me that was a powerful message for the soul to hear.

Then to see the crowds once again out for Canada Day where I took in some history at Fort York, live music at the Harbourfront and multicultural performances at Queen’s Park was a lot of fun. The seas of red and white t-shirts and flags wherever you walked was a sight to see.

A salute to you Canada!

A salute to you Canada!

Just an awesome weekend all around.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

