Work to Live

pic
Work to live, not live to work.

As a millennial transitions between the life of a student to the life of full-time work life really becomes a balancing act between work and play. These past few months I’ve really been falling way too far on the work side of life. When starting my new position at my first “big boy” job I dove into the challenges at the workplace head on. I wanted to prove to everyone that I was the right person for this job and that I was reliable and hardworking. However, my life started looking like this:

• Wake Up
• Commute to work
• Work
• Commute home from work
• Dinner
• Sleep

I’d be getting home anywhere from 9pm to 11pm at night so mentally exhausted that all I wanted to do was sleep. Then repeat that the next day. One can only do that for so long before just not being able to mentally take it anymore. From firsthand experience my advice to anyone out there is to make sure you take time for yourself. Putting too much stress and pressure on yourself in the short run might get tasks accomplished, but in the long run you’re simply going to run out of steam. This doesn’t benefit you or the people around you. Me time is important!

There will certainly be days at the office where you’re going to have to put in the long hours to get a big project done, but just make sure to pace yourself mentally to handle it all.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

