Grownup – BlogTop

blogtops“BlogTops” are weekly blog posts that myself, my good friend Fei, and hopefully you will join us in discussing topics that we feel the majority of millennials are dealing with or have dealt with in their lives. To keep it creative we pick one specific word for the weekly topic and then we are letting our imagination and creative writing take our blogs in whatever direction we so choose. It could be anything from generalizing the topic, to specific memories, to something serious, or funny. It’s anything goes! If you want to join along tag your posts with BlogTop on Twitter, WordPress, Tumblr, etc. and we will be sure to promote your blogs on social media!

After a long haitus I’m back for another edition of Blogtops! This week I’m looking at being a GROWNUP

I think a large problem many millennials face when we get to this stage of our lives and we become more grownup with more responsibilities is the fact we simply start running out of time. My new job keeps me extremely busy. It’s not rare for me to stay an hour or two later after normal work hours to get a project done, or to get organized for the next day. It then takes me about an hour and a half to commute home. Add all that up and it just doesn’t leave me a lot of time to do much else besides work, eat and sleep. That’s not to say every day after work I just go home and become a hermit, but if I do go out it means I need to sacrifice sleep. I’m not complaining though. I currently love it actually.

I think one of the best skills I learned from University was time management, and I feel like as I transition into becoming all grown up it’s really benefited me. Being able to organize your life to ensure you work hard, but also that your allocating important time to see friends, family and to explore interests and activities you love is key to being happy. At least it’s what makes me happy.

I know I might not have all the time in the world anymore to just hang out with friends every day, but all that means to me is that when we all do find the time to spend together it makes it that more important. The excitement of looking forward to seeing them is just an extra benefit of having to wait in my opinion. Also, to me missing a few hours of sleep one night a week to hang out with friends is well worth it. Doing it every night though? Yeah, not a great idea.

I really do believe it’s important as grownups to find a work / life balance. To do that you need to be able to allocate your time wisely.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grownup – BlogTop

  1. elizabethfei says:

    I think the mark of a true grownup really is the balance. I think that right out of the gate I burned myself out by working too hard. I think a real grownup knows when its time to take a lunch (hint: I’m not a grownup)

Get In On The Discussion!

