Week 10 BlogTop: Family

blogtops“BlogTops” are weekly blog posts that myself, my good friend Fei, and hopefully you will join us in discussing topics that we feel the majority of millennials are dealing with or have dealt with in their lives. To keep it creative we pick one specific word for the weekly topic and then we are letting our imagination and creative writing take our blogs in whatever direction we so choose. It could be anything from generalizing the topic, to specific memories, to something serious, or funny. It’s anything goes! If you want to join along tag your posts with BlogTop on Twitter, WordPress, Tumblr, etc. and we will be sure to promote your blogs on social media!

In hono(u)r of American Thanksgiving today this weeks blog topic is FAMILY

First and foremost, I want to wish everyone who is celebrating Thanksgiving a very happy one. I hope you’re spending it with the people you care about on this fine day. Ideally it’s warmer than it is here in Toronto. Couldn’t feel my toes walking to work this morning!

Anyways, this week’s topic makes me smile every time I even think of the word. As a millennial, studies have shown that we are family oriented (hello generalizations!). For me personally, I certainly fit into that stereotype. I place a significant value on family. I’d even argue it’s the thing I value the most in life. You could have every materialistic object on the universe, but if you have no one to share it with… to me it’s pointless.

Now, where I may differ slightly is my definition of family. The most common concept of family are your parents, siblings, aunts and uncles, etc. While I certainly see these people as family too, I think much more broadly when I think of the word family.

My Family!

My Family!

I consider my friends my second family. Even then I have multiple second families. There’s my Guelph family, my ‘online’ family, my high school family, childhood family, etc.

Also family to me!

(Also, Christine if you read this we really need to get an updated photo of us together when you’re back in Canada.)

There is always someone to catch up with and have a laugh with. So, I’m going to borrow the American tradition even though I’m not celebrating it today and state that I’m truly thankful for all my families, and everyone who’s had an impact on my life. Whether you’ve been in my life forever, or we just recently met, or we’ve stopped being so close. I’m thankful for you all!

Till next week!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 10 BlogTop: Family

  1. Pingback: 20 One Word “Blogtops” | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

