An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth

DSC_0161Last night I headed out to Indigo Books in downtown Toronto for the release of Canadian Astronaut Chris Hadfield’s first book ‘An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth’. Indigo was having an evening discussion with the man himself and you got the chance to quickly meet him and get your book signed. My mother absolutely loves everything he’s done, especially with his social media campaign so I knew I had to get her an autographed copy of the book. Son of the year award for me? Maybe. Ha!

Let’s be real though. Even if I wasn’t getting her a signed copy I would have been there just to say I got to meet such an inspirational Canadian. Not a lot of people can say they’ve met an astronaut before!

To give an idea how busy it was.

To give an idea how busy it was.

I did a little research before hand to see how book signings work and pretty much the biggest advice I got from it was… to get there early. The event started at 7, so right after work (at 5) I headed over. Boy am I glad I did! There was already a huge line and I overheard some sales associates mention that some people had been here since the store opened that morning! That should explain to you the type of celebrity status Chris Hadfield has.

Before the book signing there was an evening discussion about some of the topics in the book which was awesome. Hadfield is a great speaker, and a great story teller too. Just listening to him explain what it’s like to actually liftoff into space was so vivid. He painted such an exciting (and I have to assume realistic!) picture in my mind. So I’m really looking forward to reading the book once my mother is finished with it.

I originally lied to her and told her I was going out with friends last night so I could get it for her as a Christmas gift… but I couldn’t keep something like this a secret! So, when I got home I gave it to her. What a fun night!

DSC_0127

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Special Occasion, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

