BlogTop Week 6: Commute

blogtops“BlogTops” are weekly blog posts that myself, my good friend Fei, and hopefully you will join us in discussing topics that we feel the majority of millennials are dealing with or have dealt with in their lives. To keep it creative we pick one specific word for the weekly topic and then we are letting our imagination and creative writing take our blogs in whatever direction we so choose. It could be anything from generalizing the topic, to specific memories, to something serious, or funny. It’s anything goes! If you want to join along tag your posts with BlogTop on Twitter, WordPress, Tumblr, etc. and we will be sure to promote your blogs on social media!

This weeks blog topic is COMMUTE

My old commute...

My old commute…

With every job millennials (and everyone) need a way to get to said job. Commuting to work can be a significant factor to determining just what kind of mood you’re going to be in for the day. It can also be the factor to ruin your day once work is finally over. Nothing is worse than being stuck in traffic for hours either due to an accident or just regular congestion. For any Torontonians out there they can sympathise with anyone out there who has to drive on the Gardiner during rush hour. Brutal.

As a Co-op student in University I’ve had a number of different jobs around Ontario. I’ve actually experienced commuting to work via a variety of modes of transportation and distances. From that quick eight minutes (at most) leisurely walk through campus, to driving a minimum of 45 minutes (on a good day) through Markham. I’ve commuted to work via bike, bus, and at my current internship I take the train.

It shouldn’t be surprising that my most enjoyable commutes where the ones where I didn’t have to drive long distance. That should be no surprise based on multiple studies showing the effects of long commutes. Nothing is more frustrating than being stuck in traffic. Especially if you’re running behind. If you drive for your commute I’ve got some tips to hopefully avoid that unwanted extra stress.

Leave Early / Stay Late

This is rather obvious to avoid traffic and while I’m sure it’s an option many people don’t want to do. I know getting up even earlier is probably the worst thing ever if you’re not a morning person (hello!), and you’d probably want nothing more than to get home and put your feet up after 5:00pm but sometimes it’s simply worth it to make the sacrifice.

I always found not only did I avoid most of the traffic if I stayed an extra hour after work, but I got some extra work done and my boss was impressed at my dedication to my work. You want to make good impressions in the workplace so it was an added bonus of not only avoiding traffic but getting more done.

Plan Ahead

Many a times I got stuck in traffic because I didn’t realize it was going to rain or snow that day. For everyone out there who has to deal with snow especially, you know you need to plan ahead. It forces you to have to wake up early so you can shovel / prepare for horrible road conditions. Do some research the night before about what you might be expecting the next day. Checking for things like road construction and other potential delays is ideal too.

Find Back Roads

On a weekend explore different ways to get to work. You’ll be surprised how many people just stick to the highway because it’s familiar and they know it’ll get them to where they need to go. While it might be longer distance to travel as you aren’t taking a direct route, if you’re avoiding traffic by doing it you could be getting in a lot quicker.

Other Transportation

If you can take the train into the city. Do it. If you can take the bus, or bike, or even walk I highly suggest you do it. It’s much more relaxing and with the bus/train you’ll be able to focus on something else than what’s going on in front of you.

Walking/Biking helps you get a workout in too. They also save you gas money.

Everyone’s got to commute, it’s all about finding a way that makes it as stress free as possible!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BlogTop Week 6: Commute

  1. Pingback: 20 One Word “Blogtops” | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

