Killer Pumpkin Carvings

DSC_0240It’s that time of year again to turn pumpkins into jack o’ lanterns and to bust out the Halloween decorations for this Thursday. After googling for some pumpkin carving ideas this weekend I stumbled across a couple of creative ideas, which I loved and wanted to replicate. So this weekend I did exactly that. I went with an entire theme this year of… killer pumpkins!

Preparation

Gotta open up the top’s and remove the insides. Self-explanatory.

20131027_115849

Went with five pumpkins this year.

The Man Eating Pumpkin

DSC_0235First up… the man eating pumpkin. I made sure to purchase a white pumpkin to add some contrast to the group. (Confession: It had nothing to do with contrast, when I went apple picking I saw them and thought they looked so cool so had to buy one). Looking at the photo I’m going to add some red to the eyes to make them stand out.

I cut up an old pair of pants since I just wanted half a leg. Then I stuffed the leg and an old sock with leaves, grabbed a shoe, and stuffed the leg into the pumpkin’s mouth. For some finishing touches I threw in cut up tomato and tomato skins around the mouth and ground.

The Pumpkin Eating Pumpkin

Poor little guy...

Poor little guy…

Next was two pumpkins in one! For this creation I used a large pumpkin and also a smaller pie pumpkin. I started off with cutting the hole in the larger pumpkin’s mouth and kept making it bigger and bigger until the smaller pumpkin could fit inside.

I then cut out the mouths / eyes of both sized pumpkins. Using an old razor I shaved the remaining parts of the mouth to give the appearance of teeth.

To finish it off I threw pumpkin guts all around the mouth and around where the little pumpkin was hanging out of the larger pumpkin’s mouth.

The Survivors

To compliment these two killer pumpkin creations my wonderful mother carved her own ‘survivor’ pumpkins… who seem to be horrified of what they are witnessing.

DSC_0256

Bring on Halloween!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Photography, Special Occasion, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Killer Pumpkin Carvings

  1. Amanda says:

    Amazing!! Seeing the whole scene on your front steps makes it all come together!

Get In On The Discussion!

