Raspberry Apple Crisp

DSC_0007For Thanksgiving last weekend I helped out with making one of the desserts. Since I had recently gone apple picking, I had fresh apples to use, so I decided I’d make some apple crisp. The evening I decided to make the apple crisp I found raspberries in the fridge and that’s how I ended up with making raspberry apple crisp.

For this recipe I used a simple recipe from inspiredtaste.net. I’ll just be copying and pasting the ingredients and instructions from there. Feel free to check the original out and other recipes there!

Ingredients

Filling

DSC_0001•6 medium baking apples (I used 4 large mutsu apples)
•1 cup raspberries
•1 orange, zested and juiced
•1/4 to 1/2 cup (50 to 100 g) granulated sugar, depending on tartness of apples (I used 1/4 cup)
•1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
•1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

Topping

•3/4 cup (105 g) all-purpose flour
•3/4 cup (65 g) old-fashioned rolled oats
•1/2 cup (100 g) sugar (option: combine 1/4 cup brown sugar + 1/4 cup granulated sugar)
•1/2 cup (115 g) butter, melted (1 stick)
•1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and butter your dish.

Filling

DSC_0004Core apples then cut into 3/4-inch (7 cm) pieces. Add apples to a large bowl with raspberries, orange zest, orange juice, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. Stir then add to baking dish.

Toppings

DSC_0006To make the topping, combine flour, oats, sugar and the salt in a medium bowl. Melt your butter and stir until all the flour has been moistened and the topping is crumbly. Sprinkle over apple filling. (Used my hands for this!)

Baking

Bake 1 hour to 1 hour and 30 minutes or until juices are thickened, the apples are tender and the topping has turned light golden brown. If the topping starts to become too brown, cover with aluminum foil and continue to bake until the apples are done.

And there you have it! Perfect for Thanksgiving or anytime really.

DSC_0015

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

