Apple Picking

DSC_0194This past weekend Emily, Jennifer and myself braved the rather rainy and blah weather on Sunday to go out and pick some fresh apples from an apple orchard. It seemed like it’d be an enjoyable Canadian Autumn afternoon, and it lived up to it! Not only did we try some new variety of apples, we all got some fresh apples for the week ahead and we even picked up a few other treats to end off the day.

DSC_0182There are a number of apple orchards across Ontario and after some deliberation we decided to visit Orchalaw Farms in Brampton, Ontario. As I mentioned the weather that day was rather dreary, but it was also extremely foggy. Visibility while driving was a bit on an issue, but we all made it there, paid to pick some apples, and ventured out into the orchard! From the picture you can’t really tell, but there are a lot of apple trees in the distance.

Prior to venturing out we stopped at a tasting table that was set up so you could sample the different variety of apples that were grown there. I actually hadn’t heard of a number of them before, like for example: the Snow Apple also called the Fameuse apple. It’s quickly become my favourite apple so we set off their first.

DSC_0187 It was also at the Snow apples that we decided to take a lot of pictures as it was our first stop. If you check out my Instagram account (djohns0003!) you’ll see what I mean. From Snow we moved onto the Mutsu apple where we were informed they were the best at the orchard to use in baking. I certainly picked up a few of those as I was inspired to learn how to make homemade apple crisp.

DSC_0226We also picked some Empire, Mac and Smoothie apples to finish off our apple picking adventure.

That certainly wasn’t all though! They had a pumpkin patch, and also a small market where you could pick up a variety of items such as squash, gourds, apple cider, etc. I picked up some apple cider and also two pumpkins for Halloween this year. I felt a bit like a little kid while I was picking my pumpkins. I had to go for the largest one I could find, that from the front seen perfectly round with a great handle. I found the perfect one and I already know what I want to do with it.

Not my actual pumpkin. Picked a bigger one.

Not my actual pumpkin. Picked a bigger one.

We ended our perfect fall adventure by stopping at Tim Horton’s for some limited edition Pumpkin Spiced muffins, donuts and Timbits. It was a great adventure!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Weather, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Apple Picking

  1. Kirin says:

    PUMPKIN SPICED MUFFINS??? I’m seriously moving to Canada just for Tim Hortons.

    • Dave says:

      Yes! They are so delicious. I know Tim Horton’s is slowly taking over the Midwest in the US. I have no clue if they released Pumpkin Spiced stuff though.

  2. Pingback: Raspberry Apple Crisp | The Dave Cavern

  3. Pingback: Killer Pumpkin Carvings | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

