Week 3 BlogTop: Style

blogtops“BlogTops” are weekly blog posts that myself, my good friend Fei, and hopefully you will join us in discussing topics that we feel the majority of millennials are dealing with or have dealt with in their lives. To keep it creative we pick one specific word for the weekly topic and then we are letting our imagination and creative writing take our blogs in whatever direction we so choose. It could be anything from generalizing the topic, to specific memories, to something serious, or funny. It’s anything goes! If you want to join along tag your posts with BlogTop on Twitter, WordPress, Tumblr, etc. and we will be sure to promote your blogs on social media!

This weeks blog topic is STYLE.

I’m taking a look this week with style in terms of fashion. A topic I admittedly have little to zero expertise in.

Transitioning from University student to working adult has led me to the mindset of wanting to change how I present myself to the rest of the world. While a part of me wishes I could just wear comfy sweatpants with my favourite t-shirt all the time, I save that for weekends alone at home. Now I’m (slowly) exchanging my branded t-shirts, bulky sweatshirts, and holey jeans for a more professional and ‘grown up’ style.

When it comes to my personal style, and what I look for when I shop here is what I look out for:

Brand

Every clothing store has it’s own brand personality that looks to create a loyal customer base due to the emotional and self-expression benefits of what the brand represents.

For example, I certainly was one of those kids that shopped at stores like American Eagle, Aeropostale and Abercrombie and Fitch. They give off the feeling of being casual, young and fun. This slideshow by Maritz Research shows a perceptual map of the brands. While that’s great for being a teenager, and going to school I’m now looking to get the emotional benefits of a brand that are considered more classy and professional.

Wish I could look this classy all the time!

Wish I could look this classy all the time!

Quality

I’m in the mindset that I’d rather have one expensive but high quality t-shirt than five cheap ones. I want clothing that will last. This article will explain some tips about spotting quality clothing such as shirts with extra buttons, and finished seams.

Versatility

Having business causal clothing that not only is acceptable to wear in the office, but also when you’re out for an evening with friends gives you more bang for your buck. Being able to mix and match different pieces of clothing for different looks is also a huge benefit.

Why

Now why do I look out for these three key factors?

Perception

What you wear not only affects the way that others think of you, but also the way you think of yourself. There’s a common saying that first impressions are everything. In social psychology first impressions:

…are influenced by cues from physical appearance, nonverbal communication, environments, behaviors, and the frequency of encounters.

What you wear is certainly going to influence how others perceive you, and for young professionals it’s essential that you make good impressions.

Confidence

Self-confidence is huge in order to live a happy life. You need to be happy with yourself. When you look good, you start to feel good and buying certain styled clothing is the perfect way to look good.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 3 BlogTop: Style

  1. Pingback: 20 One Word “Blogtops” | The Dave Cavern

  2. Pingback: Week 5 BlogTop: Money | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

