Lego Brick Cakes

954789_10202097537379262_814929834_nThe task of creating the desserts for the Wedding Rehearsal dinner last week fell on my shoulders after I volunteered to do it. My family thought it’d be a funny theme to continue on with things my brother loved during his childhood, which brought along the idea of Lego Cakes.

Cake

For these cakes I used a recipe called David’s (I couldn’t not use it when I saw that!) Yellow Cake. Then since I wanted to make a two layer cake and needed to feed 20+ individuals I multiplied the recipe by four.

This information can be found from the recipe that I linked above. I just copy / pasted it here.

Ingredients

20130926_180123 1 cup butter
1 1/2 cups white sugar
8 egg yolks
3/4 cup milk
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups cake flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions

DSC_1154 1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour 2 – 8 inch round pans. Sift together the flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

2.In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg yolks one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the milk, mixing just until incorporated. Pour batter into prepared pans.

3.Bake in the preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes, or until tops spring back when lightly tapped. Cool 15 minutes before turning out onto cooling racks.

Once your cakes are ready to create the lego shapes you just cut the cake into rectangles, and then cut a rectangle into two squares to get the smaller shaped pieces. For the filling of these cakes I decided to just use raspberry jam, and placed a layer of cake on top.

Icing

Then it was time to make the icing! I went with a vanilla buttercream icing.

Again just copying and pasting the information from the link above!

Ingredients

1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks or ½ pound), softened (but not melted!) Ideal texture should be like ice cream.
3-4 cups confectioners (powdered) sugar, SIFTED
¼ teaspoon table salt
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Up to 4 tablespoons milk or heavy cream

DSC_1158
1.Beat butter for a few minutes with a mixer with the paddle attachment on medium speed. Add 3 cups of powdered sugar and turn your mixer on the lowest speed (so the sugar doesn’t blow everywhere) until the sugar has been incorporated with the butter. Increase mixer speed to medium and add vanilla extract, salt, and 2 tablespoons of milk/cream and beat for 3 minutes. If your frosting needs a more stiff consistency, add remaining sugar. If your frosting needs to be thinned out, add remaining milk 1 tablespoons at a time.

From there I added food colouring for the different colours of bricks. When icing the cake I did two layers. I started with a crumb coat and then a second coat. For the stud of the Lego Brick I cut regular sized marshmallows in half. This will give you the end result!

DSC_1171

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking, Special Occasion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

