Post Wedding Celebrations

DSC_0085One of the unique facts about my brother and his wife is that they both went to the same high school in Canada, but my brother moved to Scotland to do his PhD, and his wife moved to California to do hers. Meaning at the wedding there were a number of people from out of the country who came to attend. The next day my family and I decided to show one of my brother’s groomsman, who had never been to Canada, to Niagara Falls and the surrounding area.

DSC_0040First off, my father loves everything to do with ships. So our first stop was to the Welland Canals Centre Lock 3, also home to St Catharines Lock Museum. We got pretty lucky to see not one, but two ships pass by the locks. We got to see both the CSL Laurentein and the ALGOCANADA.

From there we went to Canadian fast food chain Harvey’s so our guest could try some strictly Canadian restaurants. Also, do not worry any Canadian readers though no longer strictly a Canadian chain we certainly stopped at Tim Horton’s a number of times during the weekend!

DSC_0094Next was the big tourist attraction of Niagara Falls. I always enjoy coming here because no matter how many times you go the falls are still a very impressive sight to behold. There’s something about the velocity and the atmosphere of the falls that make it so I could sit there and watch for hours. Plus, the photographer in me got super excited that the falls created a lot of rainbows. Added some colour to my shots!

DSC_0104We ended our little tour of Southern Ontario with a drive through wine country as we went to visit Niagara On The Lake. We walked around the town for a bit, made sure to pick up some fudge from Maple Leaf Fudge, and I got to visit one of my favourite chain’s of all time Cows Ice Cream! From a previous post long ago I mentioned my love for cows, and you’re darn right that I bought a cow shirt while there. No shame in admitting this.

It was a fun trip to a part of Ontario that I really don’t get to visit that often. It’s always nice to play tour guide too.

DSC_0068

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

