Week 2 BlogTop : Cocktail

blogtops“BlogTops” are weekly blog posts that myself, my good friend Fei, and hopefully you will join us in discussing topics that we feel the majority of millennials are dealing with or have dealt with in their lives. To keep it creative we pick one specific word for the weekly topic and then we are letting our imagination and creative writing take our blogs in whatever direction we so choose. It could be anything from generalizing the topic, to specific memories, to something serious, or funny. It’s anything goes! If you want to join along tag your posts with BlogTop on Twitter, WordPress, Tumblr, etc. and we will be sure to promote your blogs on social media!

This weeks blog topic is COCKTAIL.

Now to start off I’m more of a beer kind of guy. When I’m going out for drinks after work with friends or co-workers I’ll enjoy a pint or whatever is on tap. This is the same when I’m at home and just want to sit and relax. My go to cocktail when I’m out on the night on the town? A rum and coke. Why? Because it’s easy and I know everyone understands what that is. If you haven’t started to guess where I’m going with this… my expertise on ‘cocktails’ is extremely limited and narrow.

So, I gave myself a little challenge to learn more about the different options one has when out socializing, or when spending a night in with friends. I decided to find all the liquids in my household and to use the Webtender’s ‘In my bar’ section to figure out what type of drinks I could actually make instead of that regular old rum and coke or a beer.

I got lucky with the timing of this topic has my household had just finished hosting my brother’s wedding rehearsal dinner last week. So, I had lots of options for drinks. Here are the results of my scavenging around the home.

Looking at this Webtender site I realize I didn’t take pictures of a lot of other items I had in my house that can be used like salt, sugar, almond flavouring, coffee etc. I had them though!

From my results it turns out I had 56 ingredients I could use to make 93 different cocktails! I really didn’t think I’d have that many. Just for fun I’m going to pick two of examples of what I could make at home.

Rum Shrub

Ingredients:

•Rind and juice of 6 Oranges
•1 pint cold Water
•2-3 lb Sugar
•1 pint Orange juice
•2qt Rum

Mixing instructions:

Pare 6 oranges very thinly and put the rinds into a gallon jar. Add the juice of the fruit. Add 1 pint cold water, close the jar, and let the liquid stand for three days, stirring it now and then. train into an enamel dish, add 2 to 3 pounds

Blonde’s Death

Ingredients:

•5 cl Rum
•10 cl Red wine (sweet)
•15 cl Coca-Cola
•Some Ice cubes

Mixing instructions:

Mix in the glass. Serve cool!

It turns out the possibilities are endless for the types of drinks you can make. If you’re ever bored of your go to drink, or if you just feel like being a little creative take a look at one of these mixology websites and learn all the different types of cocktails you can make!

Tune in next Monday for our next topic!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Cooking & Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 2 BlogTop : Cocktail

  1. Pingback: 20 One Word “Blogtops” | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

