Week 1 BlogTop : School

blogtops“BlogTops” are weekly blog posts that myself, my good friend Fei, and hopefully you will join us in discussing topics that we feel the majority of millennials are dealing with or have dealt with in their lives. To keep it creative we pick one specific word for the weekly topic and then we are letting our imagination and creative writing take our blogs in whatever direction we so choose. It could be anything from generalizing the topic, to specific memories, to something serious, or funny. It’s anything goes! If you want to join along tag your posts with BlogTop on Twitter, WordPress, Tumblr, etc. and we will be sure to promote your blogs on social media!

This weeks blog topic is SCHOOL.

SCHOOL

282633_4139712530437_1816598172_nFor me personally, I’m currently in the transition from post-secondary education student to starting a full time career. I’ve graduated from the University of Guelph, but I haven’t been able to land that job in my ideal career path yet. I’m working on it though!

I had a number of directions I was thinking about taking this post. I could take a more serious approach and discuss if post-secondary education was really worth it, or I could have discussed if all millennials should be looking into graduate schools (shout out to my friend Amanda who’s starting her program out in British Columbia!).

Photo Credit: Rashaad Bhamjee Note the rain.

Photo Credit: Rashaad Bhamjee
Note the rain and umbrellas.

However, this weeks topic really came at a perfect time because this weekend was my University’s Homecoming. The Guelph Gryphons took on the McMaster Marauders and the majority of my alumni friends and I were not going to miss out on this! Unfortunately the weather on Saturday was horrible. It was down pouring and cold. Didn’t stop us though from going out at full force to support the team.

Re-visiting Gryphs!

Re-visiting Gryphs!

At the same time we got to check out some of our favourite spots around Guelph. Returning to school and just being back on campus really brought back great memories of the time I spent there. It was also a good reflection to remember what I have already accomplished, and to really see the transition to where I was to where I am now currently in life. This led to the idea for this post, to discuss my personal biggest challenge with this transition from student to working.

The biggest challenge I’ve been facing has been dealing with the monotonous way of life. When you’re a student every four months courses would end, and then you’d start the next semester with an entire new course load to challenge yourself. It was constant change, and your brain was always challenged with new material. Even outside of school your life constantly changed. For eight months you’d be at school, and then you’d move home for the summer and work, and then move back to school in the fall. Always changing. Always new.

Graduation! The start of the transition.

Graduation! The start of the transition.

Now you get into a continuous way of living. If you’re a stereotypical office worker you work 9-5 Monday to Friday, you have your weekends off, and then it’s back to work. Your job for the most part never changes and you’re doing the same thing week after week. It can be hard to transition into this and to keep yourself positive and motivated. Especially if you’re not currently where you want to be in your career or just where you want to be in life.

I’ve learned the best way to combat this feeling of repetitiveness in your life is to really explore your interests and hobbies. Explore what you really love to do and take the time out of your life to actually pursue them. Continue to try new things and to challenge your brain whether it be creatively, logically, spiritually, etc. For me personally, I’ve been focusing on baking, travelling, and blogging! It keeps my brain thinking, and it keeps my life interesting. I feel this transition in life is really the perfect time to find out what you truly love in life, and to really purse it to your full potential!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 1 BlogTop : School

  1. Kirin says:

    Sometimes I wish I was already an adult with a job, but you remind me why I should appreciate being in school while I am because you’re right, it’s nice that my life is constantly changing!!

    • Dave says:

      I was like that too during my last year of University. Working sounded much more appealing. However, it’s all about learning to appreciate what you have right now and living in the moment!

  2. Pingback: 20 One Word “Blogtops” | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

