Nintendo Super Star Rice Krispies

20130914_193707 For my brother’s bachelor party I did a whole Nintendo desert theme so here is the first of four deserts I made. Star Rice Krispies! These stars made their first appearance to Nintendo in 1985 in the game Super Mario Bros. The recipe and instructions were found right on Kellogg’s official website, but I’ll post the ingredients and steps here too.

Ingredients

DSC_0743 3 tablespoons butter or margarine
1 package (10 oz., about 40) regular marshmallows
6 cups Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® cereal

Directions

DSC_0742Really, rice krispies are extremely quick and straight forward to make!

1. In large saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat.

2. Add rice krispies cereal. Stir until well coated.

3. Using buttered spatula or wax paper evenly press mixture into 13 x 9 x 2-inch pan coated with cooking spray.

Decorating

The fun part is turning these rice krispies into stars. I placed them in the fridge for about an hour to let them chill. You easily could get away chilling them for 20-30mins, but I was just busy finishing off the rest of deserts. After I took them out I used star cookie cutters to cut out the shapes. Note: You’ll have a lot of left over rice krispie scraps leftover. Great to snack on! I then stuck sticks into the rice krispies.

DSC_0770Also note, I happened to have used two different sized cutters simply for the reason that I didn’t notice I switched half way through cutting them as they were both sitting beside each other. It worked out well though because….

I melted a bowl of Mercken’s yellow moulding wafers and dipped the rice krispies to cover them. Well, the larger stars combined with the melted candy were too heavy for the sticks, and they fell off. So note: smaller they are the better when using sticks.

Once the moulding wafers had dried I finished them off by adding the eyes with black and white icing, and here’s the end result!

1175046_10202004444051987_1396929962_n

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

