End of Summer Chicago Getaway

IMG_20130823_190648I have returned from the United States! I had such a blast, but everything hurts. My whole body was not happy with me this morning as I forced myself out of bed to get to work. Even now I feel like I could sleep for days. However, it was certainly worth it! Now, I unfortunately forgot my memory card at home this morning so tomorrow I’ll post the few pictures I took from my DSLR. I’ll just share the pictures I took on my cell phone and the stories today.

Friday

After work Friday I made my way over towards the free shuttle bus service to Billy Bishop Airport and while I waited for the shuttle I got to check out a lot of people’s costumes for Toronto’s Fan Expo! I really wanted to go this year, but the timing just didn’t work out with this vacation. Still was happy I got to see some costumes though.

The flight itself to Chicago felt like it took forever. Time seems to move so slowly when you’re excited. Thankfully when the plane landed it was smooth sailing from there. I was the first person off the plane, the first person in line for customs, and I was out the airport and onto the Chicago Orange Line in record time.

Hanging out at Rob/Neil's!

Random hanging out shot at Rob/Neil’s!

My friend Bill was kind enough to offer to pick me up from the station. He was running a little behind though when I arrived so I decided to quickly stop over at a nearby Taco Bell for a Baja Blast Freeze. We unfortunately don’t have Baja blast in Canada. So I make it my personal mission every time I visit the US to get some. I walked back to the station to find Bill waiting for me and we headed to Rob and Neil’s place where everyone was waiting for me. I was the last person to arrive so the party could officially get started when I got there!

We decided to go out to a bar, and we spent the rest of the evening dancing the night away. At the end of the night we split off into two sleeping groups (Those staying at Rob/Neil’s vs. those staying at Bill/Gee’s). Stephen, Bill, Bryan and myself then ended up playing video games till around 5:00am in the morning. The most notable game being played was WarioWare. Playing that game was so hilarious. I was pretty awful at it, which makes it even more hilarious.

Saturday

Saturday Bill made our group breakfast, while the other group went out. Everyone then came to Bill’s place and we made our way to the beach! I’ve been doing some research to try to figure out just exactly what specific beach we were at… but I still can’t tell. If someone on the trip reads this and knows the name of the beach please let me know and I’ll edit it in!

Edit: Turns out it was North Ave. beach. Thanks Ev!

Photo Credit: Fei. Follow her on twitter @ElizabethFei!

Photo Credit: Fei. Follow her on twitter @ElizabethFei!

This is the reason my whole body is so sore. We ended up playing beach volleyball all afternoon. I’ve never actually played beach volleyball before, so I was using muscles I didn’t even know I had. It was so much fun though, and I definitely saw myself improving as the matches went on.

We’d play three sets and then have a water break / swim in the lake and then we repeated this process until everyone was too tired to play. The original game plan was to just stay at the beach for awhile and then head to the zoo, but we ended up just staying at the beach all afternoon.

Gee, Bill, Myself and Bryan making our way to dinner!

Gee, Bill, Myself and Bryan making our way to dinner!

We had dinner reservations at Mity Nice so we all headed back to change / shower and made our way to the restaurant. The food there was so good! I ordered a local Chicago draft beer (figured why not while I was there!) and a California burger with avocado and goat cheese. Just typing this is making me wish I had another one.

After dinner Chris, who got himself a hotel room, invited us to his room before we headed out to a karaoke bar. In typical us fashion we ended up playing mafia. Us “citizens” lost both times. Whoops. My bad for the second game where I single headedly lost the game!

It was then time to go sing some karaoke, which was hilarious as always. Notable song choices of the night were Ev’s “Drop It Like It’s Hot”, Bryan / Fei’s “I Want It That Way” and I took to the stage with “The Bad Touch”. Here are some photos of everyone preforming at different points!

We also might have turned the back of karaoke bar into our own personal photo shoot. Stephen has pictures going off like crazy, which I’m really excited to see them when he uploads. I’ll share a few when he does!

Sunday

20130825_105615Sunday started off with a phone in my ear from Bryan telling me to wake up so we could go get bagels. It was a good call as a group of us went to Chicago Bagel Authority. Once again, the food was delicious, and I wish I had another one right now.

There wasn’t anything specific planned for today as almost everyone had to leave (including myself). My afternoon included playing some Mario Kart with Gee, Bryan, Stephen and Bill, learning that I’m the ‘All American-Canadian’, another Baja Blast Freeze from Taco Bell, watching the movie Clue which led to Bryan missing his bus, and travelling to the Midway airport with Stephen and Fei. Fei and I created the “Escalator Game” as we waited for Stephen to check his bag where we’d say things like “the next person to come down the escalator will be your future husband.” Hilarity ensued.

It was a quick weekend getaway, but it was so much fun. It was full of non-stop laughter, jokes, games and good times with an amazing group of friends. Can’t wait to do it again soon!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Travel, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to End of Summer Chicago Getaway

  1. Evan says:

    We were at North Ave. beach. And thanks for the shoutout, great weekend!

Get In On The Discussion!

