Fantasy Football Draft 2013

73407_1717131207418_7122780_nThere are a few things that make the end of the Summer more manageable for me. Knowing all my favourite shows are returning soon, leaves changing on the trees, those cool fall days where it’s still warm enough to wear shorts, and football season! I was never really interested in football until I befriended my friends from the United States and started visiting their country more frequently. I got to understand just what football is all about through their excitement, and I even got to experience it first hand as I’ve now attended a number of MSU college football games. I am obsessed with their tailgating. So much fun. I’m really hoping this year a few buddies and I can travel south of the border for an NFL game.

Something else that got me interested in football is the Fantasy Football aspect. My friends and I started a league three years ago and I (finally) joined the over 32 million people who take part in fantasy sport leagues. One of the most exciting parts of our Fantasy Football league is the draft party we have every year. That my blog readers is tonight!

Since everyone in the league is from all across the United States (+ me from Canada) we all get together on Google Hangout and we create our teams for the year as we talk and have fun. It’s nice when we can all find the time to get together!

For the big draft itself I’ve been browsing different types of strategies to take with me to the draft. Basically what I’ve learned is to pick your kicker / defence last. Go for top tier running backs first, and don’t go for a quarterback right away. I’m the third person to pick, so I should easily be able to get one of the best running backs right away. I’m looking at either Adrian Peterson, Arian Foster or Doug Martin at the moment.

I’d continue on with my strategy, but I’m sure a few on my friends in the league potentially will be reading this. So keeping the rest of my cards close to my chest. Drafting is serious business. So serious I made notes on who to go for and who to avoid:

Super small to keep it classified.

Super small to keep it classified.

I’ll post my team tomorrow and regardless what it looks like I can’t wait for tonight!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Sports, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fantasy Football Draft 2013

  1. Christine says:

    I will never get arian šŸ˜¦

Get In On The Discussion!

