Taste of the Danforth

20130811_170338This weekend Emily, Jenn and myself attended Toronto’s Taste of the Danforth, and with that another item can be crossed off the Toronto Bucket List! From their official website they describe Taste of the Danforth as the following:

GreekTown Taste of the Danforth sponsored by Pilaros is one of Toronto’s signature events, showcasing the best of Hellenic food, culture, and music our multicultural city has to offer – from souvlaki to mezes, authentic Greek music to interactive children’s games! Come enjoy the culture that makes the Danforth a year round destination.

I can tell you this place was packed. There were people everywhere and the lines to get some traditional Greek meals were huge! That was a little disappointing because I wanted to try some gyros, but I didn’t want to wait forever for one. Thankfully however the lines at any stands that were selling desserts were much shorter. So I just passed on dinner and dove right into dessert!

greekdesert

I had some kataïfi:

A kadaif pastry is made by putting down a layer of wire kadaif, then a layer of a filling of chopped nuts, then another layer of wire kadaif. The pastries are painted with melted butter, baked until golden brown, then drenched in sugar or honey syrup.

And also loukoumades:

Loukoumades are a kind of fried-dough pastry made of deep fried dough soaked in sugar syrup or honey and cinnamon, and sometimes sprinkled with sesame.

20130811_171857They were both SO good! I need to become friends with someone who can make loukoumades because they were definitely my favourite. Each bite was so, so good. Though I don’t know how much my waist line would like me if I ate them all the time.

At the end of both sides of Danforth that was closed off for the festival (and in the middle) were stages that showcased some of the best of Greek cultures. They had authentic live Greek music playing, and also had traditional dances too. Emily, Jenn and I stopped to listen for a little bit.

20130811_172335 A number of companies were also set up giving away some free samples. Off the top of my head I remember there being Tums, Twistos and Astro. Marketing lesson! Companies love to be at events like this to expose their brands. A number of companies give out free product samples to acquaint customers to new products being offered. Customers are able to try the product before actually purchasing it, sort of like test driving a car. It’s a perfect way to grab some customer loyalty! I personally had never heard of Twistos before, but they were so good. Definitely will look into purchasing them when I’m looking to buy some snack food.

I’m really glad I got to check out this event! It was a lot fun, and lots of fun to experience a new culture.

20130811_172800

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Bucket List, Marketing, Thoughts, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taste of the Danforth

  1. Pingback: Toronto 2013 Summer Bucket List | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

