Poke Ball Cake Pops

DSC_0103For anyone who noticed in my blog post yesterday I mentioned under the picture of Amanda with Pokémon that it was a hint to today’s post. Well, this weekend Amanda and I made some cake pops! Not just any cake pops, but we went Pokémon themed with this one. Really now that I think about it, our whole weekend was pretty much video game themed.

Pokémon is the second most successful video-game media franchise next to Mario franchise, and it’s really any developers dream to have their creation turn into a media franchise. Media franchise is the term used to describe intellectual property licensed to other parties. So whenever you see a stuffed toy, apparel, lunch boxes, you name it of your favourite video game or cartoon character. It’s because of media franchising.

Probably the biggest staple of the Pokémon genre is the Poke Ball. For anyone who is a fan of this franchise, you take one look at the round red and white ball, and instantly know what it is and how it relates to the video game. Since my mother had bought a cake pop pan to make circular cakes, I knew the Poke Ball was easily something I could recreate in edible form! I always like it when I can combine some of my favourite interests of marketing, baking and video games into one post!

It was also nice to have a helping hand in Amanda, especially when it comes to design. Amanda is an extremely talented artist so I was happy to have her help out! I used a simple yellow cupcakes recipe. Just instead of vanilla extract, I went with lemon extract for a change. Mix it up a little.

We started by getting our ingredients together. We whisked the flour, baking soda and salt in one bowl, and mixed the milk and lemon extract in a measuring cup to use for later.

DSC_0060

Amanda then beat butter and sugar in my KitchenAid mixer. We then added the two eggs. Then added half the dry ingredients, the wet ingredients and the rest of the dry.

DSC_0066

I then poured / spooned the batter into my cake pop tray.

DSC_0069

Popped on the top of the cake pop tray and placed in the oven at 350 degrees.

DSC_0085

After about 20-25 minutes we took them out, and I was quite happy they turned out great! I had no clue if I had put in enough batter for each cake pop / if they would even look circular when they came out of the oven, but it was a success! We then melted some candy melts to put around the tips of the sticks and inserted them into the cake pops.

DSC_0091

Now it was time to turn these cake pops into Poke Balls! We melted more white candy melts for the first coat.

DSC_0092

Then put them in the freezer for about 5-10 mins so they could harden before dipping half the cake pop in red candy melts for the second coat.

A wild Charmander even appeared to see what was going on!

A wild Charmander even appeared to see what was going on!

For the finishing touches we then outlined the middle of the Poke Ball in black icing with a #1 icing tip, and made sure to include a black circle as well. For the centre of the Poke Ball we tried a number of variants to see what would look best. We tried using the white candy melts for a white circle, covering mini chocolate M&Ms in the white candy melts and sticking them in the centre, and washing away the candy coating of the M&Ms and sticking them on. I think the best approach was just using the white candy melts. The end result was the picture at the top of this post.

Regardless I think they all turned out great! They were also extremely delicious. So another successful baking adventure.

DSC_0117

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poke Ball Cake Pops

  1. sammijo99 says:

    They look yummy! 😀

  2. kathy says:

    i making the pokemon cake pops because my daughter is turning 13 and i have to make them for school and for her track team.thanks for letting me see pictures so i know how to make them.

Get In On The Discussion!

