Game On 2.0

DSC_0126I had quite the eventful weekend, which I’ll be breaking up into multiple posts throughout the week. I had a special guest hanging out with me as Amanda stayed at my place from Friday night till this morning. My house was one of her stops as she travels around parts of Ontario before packing up and leaving for British Columbia. She’ll be getting her Masters at Simon Fraser University. So, while sad that she’s leaving Ontario, it gives me the excuse to go visit BC sometime!

DSC_0136The number one thing I wanted to do with her while she was here was to check out the Ontario Science Centre. They have a special exhibit going on called Game On 2.0 where they have over 60 years of video game entertainment to watch, experience and most importantly play! This exhibit was on my Toronto Bucket List and Amanda and I both have our ‘geeky’ gaming side to us so this was the perfect time to check it out!

We arrived at the Science Centre and headed straight to the exhibit on the sixth floor. Immediately you encounter two familiar faces of Samusand Mario, so of course immediately I wanted to take a photo with them.
game20

DSC_0137We went inside and this place was so cool! Everywhere you went there were stations of video games that you could play from every console imaginable. They weren’t kidding when they said there was over 150 games to experience and play. It’s also no surprise Amanda and I went right towards any station that was open. We spent a good while playing all the different types of games. Including our past favourites, games on systems we’ve never played before (finally got to play the Atari! Successfully beat Amanda at Combat.), and current favourites out there. Amanda particularly took a strong interest in turning Esme and Tate’s life around for the better in the Sims 3. Whoever was playing before us had trapped poor Esme into a room with no doors, so Amanda quickly put a stop to that.

DSC_0138

DSC_0180 One of my favourite parts of the exhibit was seeing all the old arcade style video games. If it wasn’t obvious from my shirt and belt buckle, I’m a fan of Pac-Man. So getting to play on the arcade system was so cool. It also reminded me how rusty I am at the game. Whoops. Some other interesting games they had included Johann Sebastian Joust, which is a no-graphics, digitally-enabled playground game designed for motion controllers such as the PlayStation Move. Everyone was given a controller the lit up, and you had to move around the room trying to hit the other player’s arms to make their light go out. It was kind of weird to play. Amanda and I also really just sabotaged each other the entire time. There was also a 3D simulation game, which you needed closed shoes to try so Amanda and I both couldn’t. However, it looked really awesome.

Other parts of the exhibit including looking at marketing material from games, design sketches, character development and facts and tidbits about systems.

This is a hint for tomorrow's post.

This is a hint for tomorrow’s post.

Overall I highly recommend anyone who’s into video games going. Even if you’re not really that into them, I’m going to take a bet you’ll find something that peaks your interest there. I think the best part of the experience was definitely the nostalgia. Seeing all the games I played as a kid, the old Game Boy (that I still own) behind a glass case, and all the other systems I’ve owned in the past. It was a nice look back into my childhood. It also reminded me that a game doesn’t have to have sick 3D graphics to be entertaining, and to grab your interest. It just has to be fun. If you’re in the area I’d definitely check this place out! It’ll be around until September 2nd 2013.

The rest of the afternoon Amanda and I checked out the other exhibits. I didn’t take too many photos of the rest our day. So I just compiled the ones I did below for your enjoyment!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Bucket List, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Game On 2.0

  1. Pingback: Toronto 2013 Summer Bucket List | The Dave Cavern

  2. Pingback: Poke Ball Cake Pops | The Dave Cavern

  3. Pingback: Kensington Market | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

