A Jeep Thing

537719_4005756301615_463154580_nEver since I was in high school I always wanted to own a Jeep. Simply put I thought they were the coolest vehicle, and whenever I saw a commercial with one off-roading somewhere I thought it was simply awesome. I certainly bought into the brand image of Jeep, and I feel I’m most certainly fall under their target market. Especially the psychographic and behavioural segments when it comes to liking to explore and by being bold and adventurous. Needless to say, for my University graduation present from me to me, I bought myself a used jeep. A 2003 TJ sport to be exact.

575240_4005707300390_1163953784_nA year and half (or so) later? Still loving it. I learned how to drive standard on this jeep, I’ve travelled across Eastern Canada in it, even travelled into the States as far as Chicago. One of my favourite things about it is how customizable it is. To me it’s like having four vehicles in one. I can have my hard top on, soft top on, no top, and no doors if I wanted. It’s extremely hard to explain, but the feeling of driving with the top off on a hot summer day. Gives me a sense of freedom.

46999_10200619418987226_1143372902_nJeep has done a very successful job in developing it’s brand and creating very loyal advocates. There’s a very strong sense of community between jeep owners. My very favourite thing about owning a jeep is what happens when you pass by a fellow owner. You either give a full out wave, or raise your fingers on your steering wheel acknowledging them. You have zero clue who they are, but you are still connected because you’re a part of the jeep “family”. It gives you a sense of belonging, which is really cool. When I first started driving my jeep I certainly wasn’t expecting that. It was a welcoming surprise.

Whenever anyone asks what that’s about? It’s a jeep thing.

jeep-logo

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Jeep Thing

  1. Bill says:

    Except when you lose your sunnies in them. RIP sunnies 😦

  2. Jesse says:

    ~~Jeep wave from California, Buddy! 🙂

Get In On The Discussion!

