Quarter-Life Crisis

Photo Credit: Gate Way To Gold Blog

Photo Credit: Gate Way To Gold Blog

I was talking to a friend last night (Anonymous shout out to you! You know who you are) about Quarter-life crises and going through them. To be honest I didn’t even know this was legit a thing until recently, but it makes sense. You’re whole life as a child and adolescent you’ve had a pretty much set routine of school from fall to spring followed by months of summer vacation. You have big dreams of what you want to be when you grow up, where you’re going to live, and the interesting life you’re going to have.

Fast forward to now and you’ve graduated from high school or college or university. You’re out in the real world not working your dream job, not in that huge house you wanted to live in and you don’t have the time or money to live that interesting life. You also certainty don’t have those summer months off anymore (unless you’re a teacher, which I’m extremely jealous of you. Ha!). The bottom line is it sucks. You’re transitioning into adulthood and it certainly is not what you expected what so ever.

I can’t say I’m currently going through this crisis myself (yet?), so I can’t fully relate. I’m still going to try to give my personal advice on what I think could help for anyone going through this or at very least give some motivation that it’ll all work out in the end!

Keep Your Dreams

Those dreams and inspirations you had as a kid of how you saw your life? Don’t stop having them! If you’re able to, work towards making them come true still. For example, if it’s career related and you’re not currently in your dream job (or anywhere close to it) start looking at doing some related volunteering in that field. Also, don’t be afraid to take some Continuing Education courses at night. It’s doable even with a full time job. I can say that with confidence as I took some night courses on graphic design.

Do Something Unexpected

Break out of your daily routine! Do something completely new tonight, or tomorrow after work. Ever had Lebanese food before? Better yet have you ever made a traditional dish of your heritage? What about riding a unicycle, paddled in a canoe, or went for a drive just for the sake of driving? Breaking out of a daily routine that doesn’t excite you can bring some motivation back into your life, and remind you that there is so much out there in the world to see and experience. Even in your own backyard.

Enjoy The Little Things

Take the time to really live in the moment of your day. Don’t just walk to work. Experience what is going on around you. Feel the wind on your skin, listen to the sounds of the busy streets and your shoes hitting the pavement. Stop to enjoy the beauty of your city’s landscape, and appreciate the taste of the coffee you’re drinking. What else do you see? Hear? Feel? Notice it instead of worrying about the future.

Plan Future Activities That Excite You

A big thank you for Heather for sending me this link at the exact time I was writing this part of my post. (Off topic: I absolutely love the #WhatShouldWeCallMe blog. Hilarious.) As I find the anticipation of going somewhere, of seeing friends, of going out for a night on the town is just as exciting as the actual event being planned itself. So make future plans! Better yet make a bucket list to complete so you always have future plans that you can look forward to and be excited about.

Remind Yourself It’s Going To Be Ok

Probably the best advise I can think of is to remind yourself this. It’s a phase. You’re also not alone. So many people are going through this, trying to figure out where they fit in this world, trying to determine if they made the correct life decisions. It’ll work out. Plus you have friends and family to help you along the way. Don’t be afraid to reach out to them.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

