The Cardboard Car

Life Update: I found myself at the hospital in ER last night for a few hours. For the past 24 hours I’ve been having a real hard time breathing. Every time I’d breathe in I’d get a sharp pain on my right side below my chest. It was so bad I couldn’t sleep, and just sitting down was almost excruciating. Went to the hospital and got an X-ray done, turns out I just pulled a muscle near my lungs and it’s inflamed. Phew, I originally thought my right lung collapsed or something. I’m glad it’s nothing serious. Anyways, onto the regular scheduled post.

DSC_0057I’ve always been creative. My mind just naturally thinks outside the box, and I like to imagine wild and creative ideas. For me the sky is the limit for what I can do and create. Where did I get these creative tendencies? Well my mother of course. She’s got the same creative mindset as I do, and this post is all about what you can do with a simple cardboard box.

First off I should explain how this all came about. My mom is a librarian, and part of her job includes creating programs for children with specific themes. The type of programs that parents can bring their children in for an afternoon and have not only story time but also fun craft and activities. Well this theme was racing cars.

My mom, being my mom, took the initiative to make this specific event even better in my opinion. She already had the stories to be read, crafts prepared, snacks to create (they are making traffic lights out of graham crackers, icing and M&Ms! Jealous.) and team building activities. She had another idea though. She wanted to create a race car as a fun photo shoot for the kids.

DSC_0058 Here’s where the cardboard box comes in. She had the amazing idea to turn a few cardboard boxes into a race car. With just some duck tape, scissors and paper plates she was able to turn that simple cardboard box into something creative, and in my personal opinion something so cool! If I was an eight year old, I would be so excited to see a cardboard race car that I can physically get in and ‘pretend’ to drive. Awesome. It just goes to show with a little hard work and a little imagination you really can create anything.

The other moral of this story? You should never take yourself too seriously, it’s fun to be young at heart.

If only I was still a little smaller.

If only I was still a little smaller.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

