Cheeseburger Cupcakes

Cheeseburger Cupcakes!

Cheeseburger Cupcakes!

As I mentioned briefly yesterday , over the weekend I made cupcakes, but not just any cupcakes. Nope, I took the creative approach and decided to make cheeseburger styled cupcakes. I don’t follow that many users on YouTube, but one channel I do follow is Rosanna Pansinos’ Nerdy Nummies show. I have some geeky tendencies, and this channel just brings two of my favourite things together. Baking and video games / other really really cool stuff. I highly recommend you check out her videos, not only are they great for baking ideas, but they are really funny.

So when I saw the idea of cheeseburger cupcakes I knew I had to try this one out myself. I found quick and simple recipes online for both brownies, and yellow cake cupcakes, and got to work!

Making the brownies.

Making the brownies.

DSC_1027 First I made the brownies, which are the ‘patties’ of the cheeseburger. Unfortunately for me, I didn’t have enough cocoa powder that the recipe required, so my brownies turned out a light shade of brown. I just figured I’d say these burgers were undercooked! I know I googled ‘quick easy brownie recipe’, but I was still surprised just how easy they were to make! Really all you have to do is melt butter, and then add each ingredient as stated on the recipe. Easy.

DSC_1026 Then it was onto the cupcakes. More effort was required for the cupcakes, as you had to mix the butter and sugar, then add half the dry ingredients, then the wet ingredients and then finish it off with the rest of the dry ingredients. Certainly not hard to do, but still had to pay attention. The biggest thing to watch out for was over mixing the batter. I’ve come to learn that it’s important to not just under mix your batter, but also not to over mix it too.

Once the cupcakes were finished I needed to let both the cupcakes and brownies cool before I could move onto turning them into burgers. So, I took this opportunity to go running! I knocked off about 5km of my July running goal, and when I came back home I was good to go for getting back to work.

To create the hamburger buns, I cut the cupcakes in half, and then set them aside. Then using one ‘bun’ as a template, I cut ‘patty’ circles out of the brownies.

DSC_1030

Then for the condiments I melted yellow (for cheese, though I guess you could consider it mustard too) and red (ketchup) and dipped the bottom cupcake / top side of the brownie. For relish I grated some white chocolate and then used food colouring to turn them green. Then for the finishing touches I stuck white sprinkles into the top of the cupcakes to make it look like a sesame seed bun, and stuck a toothpick in the middle to hold it all together. Finished it off with a mini-photo shoot by the BBQ!

The finished product.

The finished product.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Cooking & Baking, Photography, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

