Picnics and Geocaching

A successfully located Geocache.

A successfully located Geocache.

I had a rather eventful weekend. It included a night out in downtown Toronto, making cupcakes (which will be the topic of tomorrows post), and most importantly I went on a picnic and went geocaching with friends! Can officially check that off the Toronto Bucket List!

Emily, Jenn, Mike and myself met up with Alexey and Masha in High Park yesterday afternoon. We made a quick pit stop to No Frills to pick up our meal, which I will explain what we had below. Spoiler: It was delicious.

I need to mention that yesterday was HOT. It was around 30 degrees Celsius, but with the humidity it felt like 39. For anyone who uses Fahrenheit it means it felt like 102 degrees out. Yikes! Plus, it looks like it’s going to feel even hotter this week at work. High Park has a community pool, and it was PACKED. So packed that we struggled to find a parking spot for a while there. It took us a little bit, but we were finally successful and then set up shop for our picnic.

Stereotypical picnic setup.

Stereotypical picnic setup.

Luckily for everyone my family owns a stereotypical picnic style wicker basket, and had the stereotypical red and white checked cloth to go with it. We also own plastic plates, utensils, bowls, cups, etc. So we were all set our a stereotypical picnic. Our lunch consisted of cold cut sandwiches with freshly baked Kaiser rolls, salads, chips and salsa, lemonade and Alexey/Masha were bringing fresh plums, cherries, apricots and plums. It was all so good!

On the trail.

On the trail.

After we had all finished eating it was time to explore High Park, and what better way then by going Geocaching? Alexey, our expert Geocacher, had already preplanned nearby geocaches and he even owns a GPS device specifically for Geocaching so we were well prepared for our adventure. Our first attempt was a fail (I still blame Emily for it, as she was leading this one. Hah!). I checked on the geocache website later though and found out we had to jump the fence we were searching around to find it though. So I guess technically that wasn’t her fault. Still. I enjoy teasing.

Searching for Geocache #3.

Searching for Geocache #3.

I was the next person to lead, and we did one called ‘Bailey’s Trail’. This one led us off the sidewalk and into the forested area of the park. Naturally, being an expert in orienteering (hint: I’m self admittedly directionally challenged), I easily located our first geocache. Jenn found our second geocache after going deeper into the forest. It was a bit of a hike, but I loved being out in nature. The scenery was fantastic. Plus the trees blocked the sun. Didn’t stop all of us from working up a sweat though.

Mike finding our final Geocache of the day.

Mike finding our final Geocache of the day.

Our final geocache, the one Mike led on, was the hardest one to find. Only because it was on such a steep hill. Our group being very logical climbed up and down this steep terrain a number of times, and if anyone read my old post about exploring the Guelph arboretum … I once again didn’t learn my lesson of not wearing flip flops when exploring nature. Though at least in my defence this time… no one was prepared. Hah! After a while we finally found it though.

I highly recommend everyone to go Geochaching! It’s so much fun, and you really get to explore places you probably would miss otherwise. There are literally millions of geocaches to find, so I think it’s safe for me to say there would be a number of them around you! Fair warning though, prepare to get a small work out in. Climbing all those hills left my muscles sore when I woke up this morning. So worth it though. Had a blast. You too can easily become a Geocacher extraordinaire!

Emily. Geocacher Extraordinaire.

Emily. Geocacher Extraordinaire.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Bucket List, Nature, Weather, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Picnics and Geocaching

  1. Pingback: Toronto 2013 Summer Bucket List | The Dave Cavern

  2. Pingback: Cheeseburger Cupcakes | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

