Snuffy the Seal

sharkweek_logoFirst off, I love shark week. I think it’s absolutely awesome, and like most people I think sharks are really cool (Why else would there be a week dedicated to sharks?). The first commercial for 2013 Shark Week was released and it’s clear they were playing on people’s emotions, and were using shockvertising for this one. It’s meant to be funny, but I wouldn’t be surprised if certain members of the general public would become offended by it. You can check the ad out for yourself below.

For me, my thoughts when watching this video was ‘awww’, followed by shock, followed by a laugh once you see the reporter’s reactions. It’s a natural part of the food cycle for predator to eat prey, and that’s why I can enjoy the commercial. Let’s face it, sharks are known for being vicious. However, I could see animal lovers, and other types of people to think this advertisement is in bad taste. Regardless, I enjoyed it and can’t wait for August 4th!

Favourite Commercials – Snuffy the Seal – Discovery Channel

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
Video | This entry was posted in Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

