Bobblehead #2 Weekend

J.P. Arencibia Bobblehead!

J.P. Arencibia Bobblehead!

Unfortunately, it seems I’m coming down with a cold or something as I woke up this morning with a sore throat. Getting sick in the summer is the worst. At least in the winter you don’t have to watch everyone out enjoy the nice summer weather. In the winter it’s acceptable to want to be locked up in your home. Oh well. I’m hoping this will just be a quick cold, and it’ll be gone as soon as it’s arrived. I’ve got things to do and places to be that don’t involve me wanting to mope around in bed all day.

Anyways, here’s an weekend update of what I was up to though! Perhaps, this will give a clue to how I got sick.

Friday

Wild Yellow Lily

Wild Yellow Lily

It was my friend Christina’s birthday on Thursday, but she decided to wait till the weekend to celebrate it with all her friends. So, for Friday is was the Guelph gang(really need a better name for us…) party and we got reservations at the Shore Grill and Grotto in Port Credit. The reservation wasn’t until 8 and I decided to take the Go Train to Port Credit right after work instead of going home. So I had a few hours to kill.

I ended up walking some of the Waterfront Trail and it was so relaxing. It had just finished raining, there were flowers everywhere, ducks / geese on the water, and the sounds of birds chirping everywhere in the trees. I absolutely loved it, and I felt like I could really spend all day just walking along it. I took a few photos with my cell phone, and used Instagram to make them look nice.

By the Port Credit Lighthouse

By the Port Credit Lighthouse

Our table all set up!

Our table all set up!

Mike ended up joining me around 7:30, and then we met up with Emily to get our reservation at 8. This restaurant was so fancy! I felt a little out of place just wearing jeans and a nice t-shirt, but that’s what happens when I wear casual clothing to work on Fridays! We ordered some drinks as we waited for everyone else to get there. Everyone else trickled in and we had a delicious meal. We finished the night off by going across the street to Scoops for some dessert. I ended up getting some lemon gelato (my favourite!) and it was a great ending to the night.

Saturday

Saturday night was just a relaxing night. Since we were both going to the Blue Jays game on Sunday I invited Mike over, and made him dinner. I had really zero clue what to make so I literally just threw in every single vegetable I had in my fridge and made a stir-fry. It wasn’t bad! Mike also brought wine, so we made sangria to go with the meal. Yum! The rest of the night just involved watching Community, Match Game, Cash Cab and whatever else was on television.

Sunday

Me with my new bobblehead!

Me with my new bobblehead!

The big event which is where the title for this post comes from! If there’s one thing I love besides going to a baseball game, it’s going to a baseball game and getting free stuff. Back in April I had attended the Edwin Encarnacion bobblehead day, and yesterday they gave out the second bobblehead in the 2013 series… J.P. Arencebia! I was one of those crazy fans that lined up before 11:00am at the gates to get the bobblehead and I dragged Mike with me.

The Jays played great and ended up beating the Minnesota Twins 11-5. The stadium was packed too of people, and the energy in the crowd was really great. As always my favourite part of being at a Jay’s game is the wave that always ends up happening. It worked out amazing this time because we were doing it, Jose Reyes homered! I’m not crossing going to a Jay’s game off the Bucket List yet though, as I need to try to get on the jumbotron first!

20130707_143353

After the game Mike and I hit up the Loose Moose for some post game nachos and wings. I’m really going to need to start working out again with all the times I’m going out. Also, gonna have to really start looking at my bank account! Oh well. Worth it to spend time with friends!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Nature, Sports, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

