Sleepy Time Tips

DSC_1002I find a lot of times I wake up extremely tired for work. Now, I’m pretty positive I already know what my problem is. I don’t have a consistent sleep schedule. One night I’ll go to bed at 10pm, others I won’t get home till 1am. Rather inconsistent. Still, learning about ways to get a better nights rest is always helpful. Especially on those nights that I just can’t seem to doze off.

There are the obvious tips out there that I feel are common knowledge at this point. For example, the keeping a consistent sleep schedule. Also, things like backing off on that cup of coffee at night, or stepping away from alcohol.

However, there are a few tips I’ve learned that I feel are a little unique (at least to me they were!) So here are some tips I’ve learned over the year to help you sleep better.

No LED Lights

LED lighting actually helps prevents your body from sleeping. I know my alarm clock, TV, cell phone all have those blue LED lights so I’ve learned to turn them away from my bed. Apparently these lights give your body a ‘second wind’ and you suddenly don’t feel so tired anymore.

Shower

A shower before bed will help you become tired. This is due to the decrease in temperature when you step out of the shower. It causes you to become drowsy due to a drop in metabolic activity.

Rock Yourself

If you happen to have a rocking chair, chair that spins, a hammock, or a significant other to help you out the rocking motion helps put you to sleep. Rocking affects your brain waves into going to sleep faster. (This is why I now want to invest in a good hammock this summer!)

Healthy Dinners

Now it’s better to eat healthy all the time, but I specifically am saying eat more healthy dinners because in my experience this is usually the meal you’re the most likely to splurge on. Fried meals, fries on the side, and extra dipping sauces? Yes please. However, research has shown getting a bad nights rest results in weight gain. This is due to the fact that a lack of sleep raises ghrelin, the hormone that tells you to eat.

So, how can eating healthy help you sleep to prevent this increase in ghrelin? Eating specific foods have been shown to help you sleep due to the release of other specific hormones like serotonin. This article explains all about it, and also gives some food choices!

Toe Curling

I don’t really know the science behind this one, but curling and uncurling your toes just relaxes the whole body, and makes it easier to fall asleep.

Hopefully these tips can help you out if you’re having trouble sleeping!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

