A Prideful Canadian Long Weekend

DSC_1009I think one the best part about long weekends is the fact when you come into work the next morning you feel like it’s a Monday, but really it’s Tuesday. Yes to short work weeks! Anyways, my Canada long weekend was very eventful! I saw a lot of friends, made new ones, baked cookies, crossed a few things off the Summer Bucket list, and probably the most important thing to mention… I’m no longer single! (Sorry any interested parties out there! Hah.)

Cookies

Saturday night I invited Mike over to my place and we made some white sangria and made some Canada Day sugar cookies (with maple icing!) for Monday. Unfortunately for me, I wasn’t paying attention to my recipe when I was making the icing and I added WAY too much milk. This resulted in the icing being way too liquidy. This wouldn’t have been a problem if I had more icing sugar… but I used it all. The result is the image below, which I mean they still don’t look too bad! Not my best effort that’s for sure though.

Canada Day Cookies

Canada Day Cookies

Pride

I can cross off going to Pride on the Bucket List. I’ve never been before, and always thought it’d be interesting to check it out, so when Mike invited me to join his friends on Sunday I wasn’t going to turn it down! I found it a little amusing that the group I hung out with turned out to be so large. It seemed like everyone else had brought a friend along too, so everyone was meeting someone new. The day pretty much entailed walking around Church Street, watching the parade, and hanging out, and then at night we went to this outdoor club (I guess it was a club?) and partied the night away. It was overall a really fun experience! The only downside was seeing all the completely naked people. I’m cool with people wanting to express themselves, but that was just a little too much for me. Regardless it was a lot of fun.

At the parade!

At the parade.

Canada Day

Yesterday for Canada Day my friends and I all decided we’d go to Steam Whistle and do their brewery tour! (Another check off the Bucket List!) This place was packed when we got there, so I’m glad we booked our spot in advance. The tour was actually really interesting and it was a lot of fun. It was cool to see some of the companies inside jokes like finding 3FG on their bottles. (You’ll have to take the tour or Google for yourself what that means!) I also really love the fact that the brewery is in an old roundhouse train station, so we even learned a little bit about the history of the building too.

Group shot in front of a fridge of beer! Photo Credit: Emily

Group shot at Steam Whistle. Photo Credit: Emily

I got to see a bunch of fireworks that night too, which was awesome. Literally any way you turned your head you could see them being lit into the sky. So, overall a successful and exiting long weekend!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Bucket List, Cooking & Baking, Special Occasion, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Prideful Canadian Long Weekend

  1. Amanda says:

    Dave, your weekend sounds like so much fun! I’ve always wanted to go to Pride! Also, those failure cookies still look delicious. Congrats on the relationship! I’ll be sure to quiz you about it later =)

  2. djohns03 says:

    Yours sounds like it was quite exciting as well. I’ve been to Ottawa once for Canada Day, I love the energy there! And thanks!

  3. Pingback: Toronto 2013 Summer Bucket List | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

