The Sketchbook Project

500x550My office is getting involved with a really cool project called ‘The Sketchbook Project’. Essentially it’s a traveling library of art that you can ‘rent out’ books of art and create your own too. The library on wheels happened to be outside our office a few weeks ago, which is how we learned about it and decided to purchase our own book to create. It was decided everyone in the office would have to fill out one page. There was just one problem with that for me.

I’m a horrible at sketching.

Like, even my stick figures aren’t really great. I really felt people would see our book and be like ‘aw how cute, someone let their 5 year old draw too’. That’s how awful I am at drawing. The great thing about this project though is that they support and encourage all sorts of creative thought processes. So, I decided to take a different approach!

My inspiration came to me the other day when my local Canadian Legion actually started following me on twitter. I’ve always been into supporting our veterans, and my father’s fascination of the history of wars as led me to be interested in them as well. Specifically WWI and WWII. I’ve visited Europe and have seen the war sites, monuments, and the cemeteries dedication to remembering this past. It’s places like that that make me truly hope that a world war will never happen again.

Anyways, I decided I’d draw the symbol of a poppy in the middle of the page, and then use the famous poem by John McCrae ‘In Flanders Field‘ over and over as the background. My hope was that it would leave an impact on the reader when they saw it.

So here’s how it turned out!

0

Started with the outline of the poppy and then started writing the poem in pencil.

1

Covered the page with the poem.

2

Over every 6th or 7th word I used a red pen over the pencil outline.

3

Filled out the poppy with a red and black pen.

4

Finished the poem in black, erased the pencil and voila! The finished project.

It’s certainly no Picasso, but I like it!

I highly recommend anyone with a creative mind to get involved with this project.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Marketing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sketchbook Project

  1. Pingback: The little Fishy Sketchbook Page | Cats. Comics. Curves.

Get In On The Discussion!

