Proud To Be Different

There is a young lady on my street who is very much different from the rest of the neighbourhood. First off, she’s blind. Second, she has a mental disability. Yet, I still see her every once in a while walking along the street with her grandmother. In fact for the first time I saw her walking without any help. She was out there living her life.

I look at her as an inspiration.

The world can be a scary place when you’re different. It can be cruel and it can be vicious. Yet, there that young lady is. Being different and living in our society. She sticks out from the crowd like a sore thumb yet she still is getting out there regardless of that.

It’s hard to explain the feeling I have when I see her. I have no clue what she’s thinking, or how she’s feeling (I really should say hello sometime!), but I get a sense of pride when I see her. For her. I get proud that she’s brave enough to face the world.

It made me think of all the other people I see in my everyday life who I’m proud of. So, this post is a dedication to all those “misfits” out there. From the overweight individuals who brave going to the gym, to gay couples who aren’t afraid to hold hands in public. This is for individuals with social anxiety yet still manage to pick up the phone, and those who aren’t afraid to have a unique and quirky fashion style. To those who stand up against bullying, and also those who also stand up against sexism and racism in our daily life. The list goes on. Regardless, I’m proud of you all.

Keep doing what you’re doing. Keep doing what makes you happy, and what matters to you. You probably don’t even know it, but you’re an inspiration to people out there. You’re an inspiration to me. You make being “different” ok.

Just as it should be.

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

