Cottage Getaways

My definition of relaxation!

My definition of relaxation!

The #1 part of summer that I love is getaways to my cottage. My family has had a cottage off the Bay of Quinte for a number of years (my grandmother passed on the cottage to my parents). If I had to estimate, we’ve had the property in our family for over 50ish years? Regardless, it’s been a while and my childhood summers were spent here. It’s always nice to return because I simply just don’t have a lot of time anymore. Free weekends are rather rare for me (not complaining!).

I was quite happy to have a weekend to myself so I went with my parents for the weekend. Left right after work, stopped at our regular gas station in Coburg and picked up are regular Tim Horton’s order. Small black coffee for me, small coffee with milk for my dad, and 20 assorted timbits without raisins!

Fresh produce!

Fresh produce!

I’d love to say I did a whole lot this weekend, but unfortunately the weather didn’t cooperate too much. Not really complaining though I used the time to catch up on some much needed sleep and to relax. Still ended up going for a walk where I saw a number of birds, a few cows and even a snake (this is one of those times I needed Amanda to identify what species they were). Also, managed to get some boating in on Saturday evening, and got to say hello to my neighbours Clover and Levi. On the way home we stopped at a few farmers markets in the area and picked up some fresh fruit and vegetables. At Campbell’s Orchards I picked up a chocolate raspberry scone as a snack. Oh man. If we weren’t driving away I would have ran back and bought the rest. So good! You honestly can’t beat the quality of fresh-picked produce, and I love the fact we get to support local farmers in the area!

Clover and Levi!

Clover and Levi!

All in all a nice relaxing weekend!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

