Breaking The Habit

Three weeks in!

Three weeks in!

I’ve been a little hesitant to announce this just because:

  1. It’s gross
  2. It’s unhealthy
  3. It’s embarrassing to admit I did it
  4. I feared I’d fail and go back to it

However, it’s been exactly three weeks now since I’ve made the conscious decision to stop one of my worst bad habits. Biting / picking at my fingernails. Again, I don’t enjoy admitting that I had this bad habit, but I figure if I put this out there for all to see it’s extra motivation to stop from ever going back to it again.

Doing some research it looks like I have (hopefully had?) a mild case of impulse control disorder where I was unable to resist the temptation, urge, or impulse to bite. I normally found myself absently doing this when I was nervous or really bored. It was just something to get my mind off whatever, or to give my mind something to think about.

I’ve tried in the past to stop. I’ve bought the polish that tastes horrible (after a while I got lazy putting it on), I tried wrapping my fingers in band aids (too annoying to do daily activates with), tried just keeping nails “safe” one at a time (I hated that only one nail looked nice) and none of those treatments ever worked for me.

What actually worked for me?

I just stopped cold turkey one day. I admitted that I had a problem and that I wanted to stop it. It was all a mental issue for me. I have the urges still, but now my mind is now aware of it instead of just mindlessly accepting it. I find whenever I have these urges the best way for me to stop is to either repeatedly in my head tell yourself ‘no’, or to squeeze my hands into a fist really tight.

Here’s to hoping I finally broke this horrible habit for good!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

