Summer Sizzle Concert

29fdd4f8ce5811e2a67b22000a9f188a_6Today work is going to be a little bit of a struggle to stay awake because last night I went to Summer Sizzle hosted by 99.9 Virgin Radio at the Canadian Molson Amphitheatre! Ke$ha, Pitbull and Tyler Shaw preformed and I’ll fully admit, I had a blast!

On Monday my friend Emily texted asking if I’d want to go to the concert. Embarrassing confession time! I’ve only been to a couple concerts in my lifetime (like 3?) and I also admittedly don’t listen to Ke$ha or Pit Bull unless their song is on the radio. However, I’m not the kind of person to turn down an evening out, so naturally I said yes I’ll go. Turns out Emily was also able to convince our friend Ralitza to come! So it was the three of us who went.

Noms!

Noms!

Fast forward to yesterday night. I left work a little early so I could meet up with Emily since we both work downtown. She travels westbound, while I normally travel eastbound, so her train leaves a lot earlier than the one I normally take. This means I had to hustle a bit to make it from where my office is located! Of course it turns out that I actually didn’t have to leave early or hustle at all as the train was late. Oh well. It ended up working out well because when we arrived at Emily’s condo Ralitza was just pulling in. So the timing worked out in the end for everyone. We all changed out of our causal business attire, debated how cold it was going to be that night (Side note: Dear Canada, stop living up to your stereotype and bring on some heat. It’s June!) and made some dinner. Nachos, vegetables and wings. Yum!

Arriving fashionably late.

Arriving fashionably late.

We didn’t actually end up making it to the venue until around 8:30, so we missed all of Tyler Shaw and Ke$ha was midway into preforming. That’s ok though because we all know that artists save their best songs for last. So all the songs that I did hear Ke$ha preform were ones I actually knew like ‘Die Young’ and ‘Tik Tok’. I was actually really impressed with her performance because I kind of assumed all her songs were seriously auto tuned, but she sounded legit on stage! I enjoyed all the Toronto shout outs she did too.

Glitter attack!

Glitter attack!

Her final song of course was a big spectacular. In Ke$ha fashion at the very end the entire crowd at the front was sprayed with glitter. It was at that point I was extremely thankful to not be near the front as I don’t really know how I’d explain to people while I was all glittery. I mean I guess people would just assume, but still. Didn’t really want to leave a trail of glitter wherever I went. Does anyone know how long that would take to get out of your hair and clothing? Either way I wouldn’t have minded too much if the show happened to be on a weekend or if I didn’t have work the next morning. Got to keep things professional!

Closer to the stage.

Closer to the stage.

There was a break between Ke$ha and Pitbill so Ral, Emily and I went exploring around the venue for a bit and took some photos. They had a DJ mixing songs at the same time, and we was really good at keeping the crowd pumped up! I wish I knew the guys name. Now, it’s going to be a little difficult to explain this but between sections of seats there were walkways, and before the front section there was also little indents of pavement. So it kind of went row of seats, pavement indent, row of seats, pavement indent. Well Ral / Emily / I were hanging out around one of the indents and security didn’t want people there. So we were asked to move. Well we just moved to another indent (such troublemakers!). Get asked to move again, and we ask if the guy would take our photo, and he happily does! Thumbs up to the security there.

Pitbull!

Pit Bull!

We head back to our seats as Pitbull comes on and the crowd goes crazy for the rest of the night. It was either because it was nighttime and everyone was in a party mood, or because more people actually wanted to see Pitbull, but everyone was out of their seats and just partying the whole performance. Unlike Ke$ha where a number of people were just sitting and watching. Pitbull was really great on stage too, and I surprised myself by actually knowing almost of the songs that were played. Hah, I guess I’m a bigger fan than I thought I was.

The atmosphere the entire night was fantastic and it looked like everyone was having a great time. Our night ended with us getting free popsicles and vitamin water as we left the venue and we picked up some shawarma for some after concert munchies. Everyone on the train back to Emily’s house was quite jealous of the smell. As they should have been, it was delicious! Ral and I both crashed at Emily’s house, and now all three of us are braving the day at work with little sleep, but it was certainly worth it!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Special Occasion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Sizzle Concert

  1. Pingback: Toronto 2013 Summer Bucket List | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

