Last Day of Internship

For the past two months I’ve been working at an internship for Jib Strategic. A small marketing firm in downtown Toronto, and today is sadly my last day.

My bio in the company description.

My bio in the company description.

I’ve had a lot of fun being here, and I’ve been learning a lot about content marketing, SEO (search engine optimization) and I picked up some more experience doing social media professionally. This time though for large clients. I’m quite happy to add to my resume the fact I’ve been responsible for social media for clients that sells annual sales in excess of $1 billion!

I originally was working on a blog post for social media uses for B2B (business to business) marketing, but I never got around to finishing it. So instead I’m going to post what I had written so far here. Might as well not let it go to waste!

B2B Social Media

Many B2B companies still (yes, still after all these years) don’t think social media is needed for their company because they simply don’t deal with the end consumer. This is an incorrect way of thinking because chances are clients and potential clients are on social media too, or they soon will be. Plus, the benefits of being active on social media far outweighs any negatives. Simply put if your company isn’t on social media, another competitor most likely is, and they are gaining an advantage over you.

So, besides gaining followers what other benefits are there on social media for B2Bs? Lots! With social media you can:

•Build and strengthen your brand presence online
•Create content to establish yourself as an expert in your industry
•Increase web traffic to your website
•Discover and reach new leads
•Engage easily with current customers
•Create personal connections with both current and potential customers

Then the real question one is probably asking, how do you get all this? The advice is simple really, and it’s the same advice you’ll hear practically everywhere else: just set up your accounts and start experimenting! Everyone needs to start somewhere, so just start posting, interacting, and engaging to build up your brand. Some tips I’ve learned:

•Have strong content. Post blogs, articles and messages readers want to read and learn about. Don’t just sell your product. Strong content marketing is key.
•Don’t make it all about you. Social media is a two way street. Interact with others, share and like their posts, and keep conversations going! It’s about building relationships.
•For Twitter and Google+ use hashtags (#) in the search bar to discover who’s actively talking about your industry and add them.
•For Twitter if you’re interested in only certain geographical locations use geocodes in the search bar. Type this into the search bar with the location you’re targeting:

keyword geocode:latitude,longitude,radius

So for example, if you’re looking for who’s talking about cookies in Toronto, Ontario in a 50km radius you’d put in:

cookies geocode:43.670906,-79.393331,50km

•On Google+ join communities that are about your industry. Here you’ll find active participants talking about your field, and you can easily join in on the conversation.

And that’s all I had written so far. I figure it’s really a “what I learned a Jib” if anyone ever asks!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Marketing, Special Occasion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

