Victoria Day 2013 Long Weekend

The Victoria long weekend was a busy one for me this year. Saw lots of people, and did a number of exciting activities. So I’ll just jump right into it!

Friday

star-trek-2-into-darkness-poster
Friday after work I got to see Star Trek in Imax 3D! Awesome movie, one that I would definitely recommend, and would see again. I love when an action movie throws in some comedic relief at the right moments. Doesn’t make it cheesy, but still makes you laugh.

Saturday

Christine's 24th / Going Away Cake!

Christine’s 24th / Going Away Cake!

Saturday was my friend Christine’s going away / 24th birthday party. She rented out lounge area in her condo for her party, which was really nice. The floor had a kitchen, piano area, pool table, etc. It made the place feel really classy!

Got to catch up with some friends I hadn’t seen in a long time, and meet some new people too. Best part of the night was definitely the cake Christine’s aunt and dad made. Replica of the cruise ship she’ll be working on for the next 8 months! So cool.

Sunday

Book of Mormon stage.

Book of Mormon stage.

Sunday was Christine’s family get together, which I’m pretty much considered family seeing Christine and I have been friends for a whopping 21 years or so. Yeah, best friends since we were around 3 years old. Crazy to think it’s been that long! Either way, we invite each other to all our family birthday celebrations.

They got tickets to see the Book of Mormon at the Princess Elizabeth Theatre, which was absolutely hilarious. I loved every single moment of it, and I now understand why everyone I’ve talked to before about it loved it too. So funny. Here’s a picture of the stage that I was then quickly told to stop taking pictures. My bad!

Our demolished oyster plate.

Our demolished oyster plate.

After that we went to Pure Spirits Oyster for dinner, and I had my first experience eating oysters. I actually liked them! I’m a little surprised by that because as a kid I absolutely detested sea food, but I see as I’ve gotten older my taste buds have changed.

Then said goodbye to Christine, which was sad. Not going to see her until 2014, which is a little crazy to think about! I know she’ll have an absolute blast though being a performer on a cruise ship and being able to travel to so many cool destinations.

Also, as I was being dropped off home I got see a huge firework show, which was awesome. I considered it a “Welcome Home” show for me, and less of a Victoria Day show for everyone else.

Monday

BBQ Group Shot!

BBQ Group Shot!


Monday’s are so much more enjoyable when you have them off. I’ll mention now that the weather all weekend was perfect! Just the right temperature, with lots and lots of sunshine. I started my Monday off with my dad. For my birthday back in April I got a new soft top for my Jeep, and it finally arrived last week! Installed it yesterday and it looks so much better. I’ll have to take a picture.

Monday afternoon I went over to my friend’s place in Pickering where we had a mini Guelph University business reunion. Had some drinks, had the grill going, and played some intense games of the card game President.

Overall an extremely entertaining and exciting weekend!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

