Throwback Thursday: New York City

29848_10100279360281634_532838_nI heard on the radio today that it was “Throwback Thursday” and I wanted to join in on this with a post! It works out well because next Friday I will be making my way to Galveston, Texas to spend time with nineteen (yes, nineteen!) friends I’ve made across North America over the years online. So, to commemorate this upcoming adventure I want to reminisce on the first trip I went on to meet four of these friends almost exactly three years ago… to The Big Apple! NYC!

Just wanted to make a quick note before I begin, that yes, I fully understand the internet can be a dangerous and scary place. You really don’t know who’s typing behind the computer, and just like in the “real world” there are people out there who are just simply horrible people. However, I’ve been very blessed to meet a group of individuals online who all share a common interest, and have become amazing friends. We go out of our way for each other, and every so often we take the time and money to travel together and spend time with each other in person. They honestly are all the greatest! We call are group “The Goldens” (follow us on twitter! @tehGoldens) pretty much because we are awesome.

Photo credit goes to my friends Stephen, Chris and Christine!

It works out really well that on my flight home I wrote down on my iPod memories from the trip, which honestly I probably would have forgotten by now if I didn’t write them down. I understand a lot of this won’t make sense unless you were there, so at least if anything the pictures will be fun to look at!

– Meeting my BF2E Christine!

30027_429890646140_2116302_n
– Stephen quotes
– Bathroom incident night 1
– Stephen snuggle time with Ev
– Central Park row boating
– Central Park Zoo

29750_10150183925285214_7688637_n
– Shirley the Zoo Keeper

30027_429890656140_7095430_n
– Favourite quotation of the trip “Let’s Get Weird”
– Seeing Times Square!
– Margaritas and making friends at Dallas BBQ

30027_429890716140_6345634_n
– Christine’s legit ID being denied at a southern style bar. (Irony: She’s from Texas).
– Karaoke Night with some “Don’t Stop Believing”
– Sushi night!

30027_429890896140_5308864_n
– Kuk falling in the street
– Intense game of Spoons

30027_429890446140_5194535_n
– Almost dying crossing streets thanks to Chris
– Introducing poutine to my American friends!

There were a lot of laughs, stories, and memories from the trip that started this whole “online meet up” craze. While we’ve made more friends over the years who have joined in on the fun, and while we’ve travelled all over the United States pretty much, this first trip to NYC will always have a special place in my heart. It was the perfect trip, with the perfect friends. I can’t wait to see them again in eight days, and also all the other friends who’ve joined us over the years. It’s going to be amazing!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Throwback Thursday: New York City

  1. Pingback: Amazing Race: Texas | The Dave Cavern

  2. Pingback: Online Communities | The Dave Cavern

Get In On The Discussion!

