Stop Comparing Yourself

Serious me.

Serious me.

We are getting personal this morning! I’m not going to lie, I’m a big sucker for motivational messages and reminders. They get me every time. One of my favourite blogs/sites? Marc and Angel Hack Life. It’s just a great place to get motivated about life. This post doesn’t have anything to do with the site, just wanted to give it a small shout out! However, what I did want to talk about was a meme that popped up on my Facebook feed the other day that really stuck with me.

I’m going to butcher it because I don’t remember what it actually said anymore, and I was silly and didn’t save the image but it was something like: “You compare yourself at your worst with people who are at their best”. Again not sure if that was actually it, but the point of the message was whenever you are unhappy on the inside you compare yourself to what people are expressing on the outside.

It was one of those things I never stopped to think about before. It seems like a rather obvious statement now, so it’s interesting to me that it was such a revelation to me, but still it was. Personally speaking, it’s not uncommon for me to further fuel negative energy when I’m upset by looking at tweets, photos and status updates online or to be outside and see people laughing and smiling. You get upset thinking people are out there having an amazing time and you’re the only person stuck feeling whatever you’re feeling.

If you really stop to think about it, it’s so easy to brand yourself as this always happy, ‘I have the best life ever’ person. Who wants to continuously be around someone who’s sad and complaining about problems all the time? Not me. Also, yes, most people are having a good time, but that doesn’t mean they also aren’t struggling with issues as well. I’d go out on a limb here and say everyone is dealing with some sort of internal issue, perhaps multiple, this very instant. It could be issues about money, health, relationships, jobs, change, whatever. Theses issues could be plaguing the person for months, or they could be tiny miniscule issues that lasted for half an hour. The point is no one is happy or perfect all the time, and the best part about having these issues… is that it’s ok. We all do.

I don’t know if anyone else feels the same way I do about this thought process, but it just mentally makes me feel more reassured. It makes me feel like I’m not alone. That when I do have an issue I’m dealing with on the inside, I’m not some deviant on society, but in actuality I’m part of the norm.

So some motivation for everyone out there who’s upset, you’re not the only one who’s feeling down! Everyone does at points in their life. Stop comparing yourself to what you see on the outside because behind every happy face is a person who’s dealing with something too. You’re never alone!

About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

