Common Cold Attack

Warning this post is really just explaining how I’m sick, and how it sucks. If you don’t feel about reading about that now is your chance to move on.
 
I’ve been down and out lately thanks to a cold virus. I don’t know about anyone else, but I seem to always get sick right before a big event. Either a vacation, or a party or something that I’m really exciting about attending. Is this is a law of the universe or something? Thou shall get a cold when thou are excited about an event. No? Maybe it’s just me then.
 
For me I went to visit my friends in Michigan over the weekend. Got to take a day off from work Friday so I could have a long weekend. All was going great until Saturday night when there comes that unforgivable sore throat.
 
It’s like the moment you feel it coming along all you can really do is groan and just wait for the worst to happen. Of course I bust out the medicine, and I overdose on vitamin C in hopes of feeling better (even though I know vitamin C really doesn’t help you get better, it only helps you prevent getting sick in the first place).
 
My body was quick to proceed from the sore throat phase, to the ‘I hate life and just want to stay in bed’ phase on Sunday. Unfortunately for me, I had a six hour drive home to Canada. If you all haven’t guessed yet, it was a rather miserable drive home. Though I feel it was only enhanced by what felt like a torrential downpour outside. Rather fitting to how I was feeling at the time.
 
Work yesterday was pretty brutal. It was one of those days that in reality I should have took the day off and just rested because it was obvious I was sick. However, I’m the type of person who gets guilty about taking days off unless I literally can’t get out of bed. Add to the fact I already took Friday off, so I didn’t want it to look like I was just trying to take even more time off.
 
Survived the day and then went to bed right away. Literally stayed in bed and slept as much as I could still work this morning… and I feel better! Thankfully. Let’s hope this is just a quick cold and I’ll be back to normal ASAP. Colds that last longer than a week I feel are the worst.
 
I’ll have a post up about my Michigan trip though soon, which would be a much more exciting post.
About Dave

I'm a 26 year old marketing enthusiast from Ontario, Canada. I graduated from the University of Guelph with a Bachelor of Commerce, and I'm currently a media buyer / planner for a marketing firm in downtown Toronto. Some of my interests include marketing, blogging, photography, travelling, coin collecting and reality TV. Also, I'm an avid Blue Jays fan. You'll find me catching a game whenever I can.
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Get In On The Discussion!

